NJC Spring Stakes Race Information

The NJC Spring Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Newcastle Jockey Club in mid-November. It is held at Newcastle as part of a standalone meeting without Randwick or Rosehill having races.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Newcastle Racecourse, Newcastle, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 November 2023

NJC Spring Stakes Race History

See the 2023 NJC Spring Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 NJC Spring Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1984 when it was won by a horse called Blazing Devil. It was a Listed race from 1984 to 1998 and was upgraded to its current Group 3 status in 1999.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Genzano (2023)

Fastest time (1600m): Allgunadoit (2003) 1:34:83

Interesting trivia: 2010 winner Ilovethiscity was sired by 2001 winner Magic Albert.

Past winners of the NJC Spring Stakes

Winners of past NJC Spring Stakes include Prioisir (2012), Ilovethiscity (2010), Sousa (2008), Hotel Grand (2005), Lotteria (2004), Clangalang (2002), Universal Prince (2000), Shogun Lodge (1999), Dracula (1998), Encounter (1997), Ebony Grosve (1996), Coronation Day (1992), Procol Harum (1989) and All Ashore (1987).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Genzano Kind Words Kintyre
2022 Pierossa Kazalark Robusto
2021 Festival Dancer War Eternal Arnaqueur
2020 The Elanora High Supremacy Ellsberg
2019 Asiago Game Of Thorns Donandkim
2018 Aramayo Cloak Greysful Glamour
2017 Astoria Merovee Primitivo
2016 Invincible Gem Faraway Town Salsonic
2015 Devil Hawk Tatoosh Gold Ambition
2014 Sweynesse Pounamu Monteux
2013 Savvy Nature Wordplay Happy Clapper
2012 Proisir Trophies Proverb
2011 Darci Be Good Rekindled Alliance Ambidexter
2010 Ilovethiscity Giresun Heartsareforlove
2009 Lovemelikearock Viking Legend Euphemism
2008 Sousa Rhyno Chaser Back Off
2007 ** Race not held **
2006 Mearas Magic Jet Teranaba
2005 Hotel Grand Manton Flora Danica
2004 Lotteria Wenceslas Square Dane Shadow
2003 Allgunadoit Niello Danbird
2002 Clangalang Recruiting Takas
2001 Magic Albert Viscount Viking Ruler
2000 Universal Prince Phoenix Park Picholine
1999 Shogun Lodge Perfect Paradise Angling
1998 Dracula Dignity Dancer Paris Dream
1997 Encounter Adam El Mirada