Newcastle Newmarket Handicap Race Information

The Newcastle Newmarket Handicap is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Newcastle Jockey Club in March. It is held at Newcastle as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quslity handicap
  • Track: Broadmeadows Racecourse, Newcastle, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Friday 5 March 2021

Newcastle Newmarket Handicap Race History

The race was first run in 1955 and was won by a horse called Seacraft.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Princess Posh (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Gay Blade (1973); Filly – Yir Tiz (1981).

Multiple winners: Manuan (1983 & 1984); Brandy Lad (1964 & 1965).

Fastest time (1400m): Solo Flyer (2009) 1:20:98

Interesting trivia: In 2016 the meeting was abandoned after prolonged rain and the race was rescheduled as the tenth race on Golden Slipper day at Rosehill. Not held in 1987.

Past winners of the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap

Winners of past Newcastle Newmarket Handicaps include Happy Clapper (2017), Laser Hawk (2015), He’s Remarkable (2012),¬†Falaise (2009), Patezza (2005), Platinum Scissors (2004), Crawl (2001), Bezeal Bay (1998), Secret Savings (1997), Ricochet Rosie (1991), Manuan (1983 & 1984), Grey Receiver (1982) and Foresight (1968).

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Gem Song Bottega Cascadian
2020 Special Reward Delectation Girl Condor
2019 Princess Posh Savatiano Invincible Gem
2018 Lanciato Mister Sea Wolf Shiraz
2017 Happy Clapper Got Unders Kellyville Flyer
2016 Artistry Nancy Amovatio