Murray Bridge Gold Cup Race Information

The Murray Bridge Gold Cup is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Murray Bridge Racing Club in October. It is held on a Friday and is the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Murray Bridge Racecourse, Murray Bridge, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Murray Bridge Gold Cup Race History

See the 2023 Murray Bridge Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Murray Bridge Cup Preview and results.

Previously run under its registered race name of the Lord Mayors Mile.

Held on a Friday for the first time in 2017 but was previously on a Wednesday. 2018 was the last running on the old race course and from 2019 on it has been held at the new Gifford Hill course. In 2023 it was moved to Saturday.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Moment In Time (2009)

Multiple winners: Excites Zelady (2014, 2015 & 2017);

Fastest time (1600m): Merlot Now (2007) 1:35:25

Interesting trivia: Sandhill Prince ran 2nd in the race three years in a row (2009, 2010 & 2011).

Past winners of the Murray Bridge Gold Cup

Winners of past Murray Bridge Gold Cups include Eclair Surprise (2012), Moment In Time (2009) and King’s Arch (2003).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Jack The Lad En Francais Lord Vladivostock
2022 Agreeable Lord Vladivostock Moscow Red
2021 Regalo Di Gaetano Classy Joe Lord Vladivostok
2020 Winning Partner Aqueduct Regalo Di Gaetano
2019 Nistaan Borris In Ossory Hussybay
2018 Von Costa Glass Modulate Magic Boy
2017 Excites Zelady Magic Consol Brown Ben
2016 Sandhill Warrior Flow Meter Tidy Prophet
2015 Excites Zelady Back On Target Okahu Bay
2014 Excites Zelady Evangelist Corvidae
2013 Pelicano Lady Dynamo Little Akie
2012 Eclair Surprise Assertive Eagle Ballypatrick
2011 War Ends Sandhill Prince Too Many Reds
2010 Hawks Bay Sandhill Prince Jutland
2009 Moment In Time Sandhill Prince Ciro Prince
2008 Club Liquid The Gem Dynamic Hero
2007 Wild Will Acacia Queen Bergstrom
2006 Bo Best Time Matters Pride Of Archway
2005 Get Up Danalaga Rally
2004 Finniss D’Or Get Up Pentirely
2003 King’s Arch Fly For Me Mustaagel
2002 Mustaagel Terminus Prince Agincourt Express
2001 Burleigh Mustinair Newsflash
2000 Mr Selby Glenola More Action
1999 Night Sky Old Tawny Stormy Jim