Mornington Cup Prelude Race Information

The Mornington Cup Prelude is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late February. It is run at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 February 2021

Mornington Cup Prelude Race History

History coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Valley Of Dreams (2001)

Fastest time (1200m): Barkada (2002) 1:08:24

Interesting trivia: 2014 winner Prince of Penzance won the 2015 Melbourne Cup. Zabeel sired 2012 winner Bolton, 2011 winner Vesper and 2004 winner Physique.

Past winners of the Mornington Cup Prelude

Winners of past Mornington Cup Preludes include Melbourne Cup winner Prince of Penzance..

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Defibrillate San Huberto Hang Man
2020 Inverloch Secret Blaze Odeon
2019 Sikandarbad Call Me Handsome Midterm
2018 Homesman Almandin Golden Mane
2017 Boom Time Goldstream Pilote D’ Essai