Moonee Valley Vase Race Information

The Moonee Valley Vase is a 2040 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in October. It is run at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate day as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2040 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $400,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Moonee Valley Vase Race History

See the 2023 Moonee Valley Vase Preview and results

See the 2022 Moonee Valley Vase Preview and results

See the 2021 Moonee Valley Vase Preview and results

See the 2020 Moonee Valley Vase Preview and results

Previously called the AAMI Vase.

The race was first run in 1981 over 1600m and was won by a horse called Vinaka. It became a Listed race in 1983 when it was won by Centaine. In 1986 the distance was increased to the current 2040m. and it was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 1989, In 1997 it was upgraded to it’s current Group 2 status.

Run on the same day as the W.S. Cox Plate, it is an important lead-up to the Victoria Derby.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Aloisia (2017)

Fastest time (2040m): Blevic (1994) 2:02:80

Thousand Guineas & Moonee Valley Vase: Aloisia (2017)

Moonee Valley Vase & Victoria Derby: Efficient (2006); Plastered (2004); Helenus (2002); Blevic (1994); Raveneaux (1986)

Moonee Valley Vase & VRC Oaks: Jameka (2015);

Interesting trivia: 1999 winner Diatribe went on to win the Caulfield Cup.

Past winners of the Moonee Valley Vase

Winners of past Moonee Valley Vases include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Apulia Verdad Air Assault
2022 Berkeley Square Virtuous Circle Pericles
2021 Forgot You Commander Harry Jungle Magnate
2020 Cherry Tortoni Khoekhoe Johnny Get Angry
2019 Soul Patch Moonlight Maid Serious Liaison
2018 Stars Of Carrum Savoie Aramayo
2017 Aloisia Cliff’s Edge Salsamor
2016 Sacred Elixir Morvada So Si Bon
2015 Jameka Shards Tarzino
2014 Moonovermanhattan Atmosphere Go Indy Go
2013 Savvy Nature All Rigged Up Pinstripe Lane
2012 Super Cool It’s A Dundeel Viking Star
2011 Manawanui Collar Scelto
2010 Rekindled Interest Lion Tamer Hollowlea
2009 Hanks Spacecraft Viking Legend
2008 Whobegotyou Buffett Orca
2007 Marching Kibbutz Barbaricus
2006 Efficient The One Excites
2005 Duelled Manton Benicio
2004 Plastered Mr Martini Count Ricardo
2003 Kempinsky Elvstroem Lifes A Bounty
2002 Helenus Macedon Lady Wild Heart
2001 Ustinov Viking Ruler Pure Theatre
2000 Skalato Universal Prince Sale Of Century
1999 Diatribe Chief Scout Cloth Of Gold
1998 Mossman Runaway Danelagh
1997 Gold Guru Mustang Red Second Coming
1996 Alfa Intergaze Portland Player
1995 Donar Peep On The Sly El Qahiras Son
1994 Blevic Northwood Plume Wild Thunder
1993 Zaremba Pride Of Rancho Mahogany
1992 Kennys Best Pal Kaaptive Edition Shoeshine Henry
1991 Naturalism Green Fever Mac Robert
1990 Rockets Galore What A Hit Centro
1989 Zamoff Stargazer Lemarque
1988 Big Grey Roo Kings High Oakwood
1987 Crush Legend Bearer Fendalton
1986 Raveneaux King Of Brooklyn Dead Of Night
1985 Caledonian Boy Reputed Splendid Speed
1984 Brash Son Calienza Barley Hunter
1983 Centaine Riverdale Roman Aspect
1982 Trig Mighty Manitou Aree Lad
1981 Vinaka Sports Ruler Black To Win