Members’ Handicap Race Information

The Members’ Handicap is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 May 2024

Members’ Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Members Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2023 Members Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Members Handicap Preview and results.

The race has had several different names. In 1995 it was the Listed QTC Baguette Restaurant Handicap over 1820m when it was won by Prieur Way. It was the QTC Ramsey Health Care Handicap over 1820m until 2000 and then over 1800m from 2001. In 2004 and 2005 it was the Smith And Nephew Stakes over 1800m, then from 2006 onwards it has been the Members Handicap over 1600m.

In 2022 it was moved to Eagle Farm due to heavy rain during the week before.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Sheiswhatsheis (2018)

Fastest time (1600m): Jumbo Prince & Rudy (2016) 1:34:21

Interesting trivia: There was a dead-heat for 1st in 2016 between Jumbo Prince and Rudy.

Past winners of the Members’ Handicap

Winners of past Members’ Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Gringotts Knight’s Choice Nikau Spur
2023 Character Bigboyroy Santero
2022 Diamil Sikandarabad Bigboyroy
2021  Reloaded Luvoir Right Or Wrong
2020  ** Race not held **
2019 Archedemus Tom Melbourne Gem Song
2018 Sheiswhatsheis Aqua Vite Nozomi
2017 Cantbuybetter Emphasis Jumbo Prince
2016 Jumbo Prince
 *dead-heat 1st Heart Of A Warrior
2015  Bewhatyouwannabe Epic Trakstar
2014 Angel Of Mercy Lady Echelon Tracey’s Angel
2013 Transporter Topping Margins
2012 Ginga Dude Triple Honour  Scenic Shot
2011 Scenic Shot Our Lukas Bugsytwoshoes
2010 Rothera Rockdale Age Of Heroes
2009 Sam’s Express Eleda Humma
2008 Rampant Lion Vietnam Daring Fortune
2007 Game On Fastness Birthday Bash
2006 Legendary Man Serenote Mikan
2005 Classic Karla Forest Jim Sunday Service
2004 Out Of Options Wishart Kenconcarne
2003 Boreale Forest Jim Laurinel Argie
2002 Raw Instinct Society Beau Nauders
2001 Mr. Smugg Zacushla Rocket Ball
2000 Ken’s Joy Paul’s Folly Celestial Abby