Matron Stakes Race Information

The Matron Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Victorian Racing Club in early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Matron Stakes Race History

The race was first held as a Listed race over 1616m in 1994. In 2006 it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status.

Also known as the Schweppervescence Trophy from 2010 to 2020.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Pinker Pinker (2011)

Multiple winners: Spanish Reef (2018 & 2019); Bonaria (2013 & 2014)

Fastest time (1600m): Noble Protector (2015) 1:34:76

Interesting trivia: 2011 winner Pinker Pinker went on to win the Cox Plate.

Past winners of the Matron Stakes

Winners of past Matron Stakes include Spanish Reef (2018 & 2019), Pinker Pinker (2011), Translate (2008), Uprize (2005), Lady Marion (2001), Noircir (1999), Miss Tessla (1998), French Resort (1997), Aunty Mary (1995) and Excited Angel (1994).

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Sovereign Award Quantum Mechanic Scarlet Dream
2020 Paint The Town Bam’s On Fire Fidelia
2019 Spanish Reef Naantali Pure Scot
2018 Spanish Reef Samovare Jester Halo
2017 Circular Zasorceress Miss Rose De Lago
2016 Felicienne Metaphorical Alaskan Rose