Matrice Stakes Race Information

The Matrice Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in March. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Matrice Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Matrice Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Matrice Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare/filly to win: Night Raid (2021)

Multiple winners: Runway Star (2015 & 2016); Lazing About (1998 & 2001)

Fastest time (1200m): It’s Been A Battle (2018) 1:08:50

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Matrice Stakes

Winners of past Matrice Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Climbing Star Party Princess Boognish
2023 Another Award Outlaws Revenge Philonize
2022 Ironclad Manhattan Times Second Slip
2021 Night Raid Second Slip Port Vale
2020 Runson Amberdi Beautiful Flyer
2019 Snitzkraft Waging War Zalmona
2018 It’s Been A Battle Stellar Collision Riziz
2017 Casino Wizard Karlovasi Riziz
2016 Runway Star Brimarvi Prince Hank’s Nephew
2015 Runway Star Riziz Mandla
2014 Riziz You’re So Good Nearest To Pin
2013 Just Discreet Road Warrior Periduki
2012 Bagman Budriguez Outlandish Lad
2011 Das Machen Time Matters A Wee Dram
2010 Periduki Jaalippy Tramuntana
2009 Taos Pleasure Verco Road The Chunkstar
2008 Changing Eyes Zipanese El Maze
2007 Reshuffles Bold Line Sorenstam
2006 Shablec Gallant Guru Grace And Power
2005 Merlot Now Taos Pleasure Feather Duster
2004 Squillani Fly For Me Starhere
2003 For The Good Times Suzy Grey Oh So Discreet
2002 Cosmic Strike Flurry’s Gem Star Joe
2001 Lazing About Spice Doll Flurry’s Gem
2000 Ticket To Rome Lezayre Prime Ruler