Liverpool City Cup Race Information

The Liverpool City Cup is a 1300 metre quality handicap race held by the Australian Turf Club  in late February or early March. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YOs & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 March 2024

Liverpool City Cup Race History

See the 2024 Liverpool City Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Liverpool City Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held over 12 furlongs at Warwick Farm in 1970 and was won by a horse called Blue Plume. It has been a Group 3 race from 1979.

In 2008 the distance was increased from 1200m to 1300m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Skyerush (2013)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Planchet (2003); Filly – none

Multiple winners:  All Archie (1991 & 1992); Boasting (1989 & 1990).

Fastest time (1300m): Dreamforce (2019) 1:15:07

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Liverpool City Cup

Winners of past Liverpool City Cups include horses that go on to win other races

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Phearson New Energy Hard To Say
2023 Think About It Gravina Bandersnatch
2022 Ellsberg Brutality Blue Soldier
2021 Think It Over Criaderas All Saints’ Eve
2020 Quackerjack Vegadaze Rock
2019 Dreamforce Snippets Land Salsonic
2018 Crack Me Up Care To Think Burning Passion
2017 McCreery Arod Testashadow
2016 Charlie Boy Rock Sturdy Good Project
2015 It’s Somewhat Rudy Gypsy Diamond
2014 Terravista El Roca Ninth Legion
2013 Skyerush Riva De Lago Bagman
2012 Ofcourseican Somepin Anypin Fast Clip
2011 Triiple Elegance Graceful Anna Pureness
2010 Dreamscape Triple Honour Mr Baritone
2009 Judged El Cambio Faulconbridge
2008 Danleigh Friday Creek Bobadah
2007 The Free Stater Regal Cheer Century Serb
2006 Utzon All Bar One Patezza
2005 Sam Sung a Song Falkirk Patezza
2004 Carael Boy Patezza Amex
2003 Planchet Snowland Moon Dragon
2002 Bomber Bill Defier Maitland Gold
2001 Continuum Phoenix Park Nanny Maroon
2000 Catatonic Mr. Bureaucrat King Of Acapulco
1999 Return To Go Sovereign State Antiquity
1998 Monopolize Sherwood Montana Sands
1997 Accomplice Celestial Choir Montana Sands
1996 Chlorophyll Suntain Our Lance
1995 So Keen Sympose Belas Knap
1994 Silver Flyer Cobbora Skating
1993 Pharaoh Friend’s Venture Stavros
1992 All Archie Mezmerize King’s Ransom
1991 All Archie Bassie’s Pride The Bullfighter
1990 Boasting Livistona Lane Merimbula Bay
1989 Boasting Nova Edition Magic Gleam
1988 Breakfast Creek New Atlantis Royal Reel
1987 Ma Chiquita Merry Ruler Riverdale
1986 Satin Sand Foystaan Dinky Flyer
1985 Gunyatti Market Report Buena Gold
1984 Seeker’s Gold Secret Romance Young Blood
1983 Rubens C’est Si-Bon Flash Doll
1982 Kalina Winter’s Dance Nordic Prince
1981 Arbogast Drummer Goreham
1980 Le De’Jeuner Robrick Star Brandy Sipper
1979 Lady Archon Flying Rajah Count Rajan
1978 Sabre Prince Party’s Pride The Waif
1977 Burwana Red Ruffian Future Shock
1976 Wave King Padang Wayne’s Bid
1975 Gilt Pattern Coolalinga Let’s Fly
1974 Toltrice Paul Revere Hasty Heart
1974 Itchy Feet John’s Hope Go Fun
1973 Lord Nelson Ricochet Dale’s Gift
1972 Zambari Baguette Sun Opal
1971 Abdul King Apollo Sylvan Ridge
1970 Blue Plume Grand Canyon Sylvan Ridge