La Trice Classic Race Information

The La Trice Classic is a 1800 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the West Australian Turf Club in early January. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Monday 1 January 2024

La Trice Classic Race History

See the 2024 La Trice Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 La Trice Classic Preview and results.

The race was first held over 1800m at Ascot in 2003 when it was won by a mare called Fortune Streak trained by Neville Parnham and ridden by Patrick Carbery. It was upgraded from a Listed race to the current Group 3 status in 2015 when it was won by Vampi Lass.

It is named in honour of the mae La Trice who was the first horse to win the double of the Karrakatta Plate (1967) and the Railway Stakes (1968). She also won the Winterbottom Stakes twice (1970 & 1971).

Useful Facts

Last filly to win:

Multiple winners: none yet

Fastest time (1800m): Russian Playmate (2008) 1:47:36

Interesting trivia: 2015 winner Vampi Lass and 2018 winner I’m Feeling Lucky were both sired by Bletchley Park.

Past winners of the La Trice Classic

Winners of past La Trice Classics include good stayimg mares

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Yonga Lass Fine Touch Forever Dreaming
2023 Alsephina The Velvet Queen Playing Marika
2022 Beret Playing Marika Real Charisma
2021 Dance Music Naughty By Nature Chantrea
2020 Perfect Jewel Royal Strata Aconite
2019 Celebrity Dream Fontainebleau Mouquet
2018 I’m Feeling Lucky Fontainebleau First Affair
2016 Dec Cosmic Storm Silverstream Tarquinn Shadow
2016 Jan Ideal Image Vampi Lass Cosmic Storm
2015 Vampi Lass Real Charm Dark Delight
2014 Elite Belle Rose of Choice Bippo No Bungus
2013 Mabel Grace Miss Tipsy Topsy Upon This Rock
2012  ** Race not run **
2011 Rosie Rocket Peg’s Pride Simplyirresistible
2010 Tranquility Premardal Little Grey Teapot
2009 Impressive Jeuney Rock My Pago Broadway Belle
2008 Dec Sky Drama Sleepwalk Rock My Pago
2008 Jan Russian Playmate Danecay French Favourite
2007 Keyton Grace Vintrack Summer Splash
2006 Belle Bizarre Professional Lady Holy Bounty
2005 Urban Chill Crimson Sakura Dedicated Miss
2004 Kentiara Lady Go Bello Dedicated Miss
2003 Fortune Streak Kim Lisa Noverre