Kevin Hayes Stakes Race Information

The Peter Le Grand Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Melbourne Racing Club in early February. It is held at Caulfield on CF Orr Stakes day as one of the seven black-type races on the day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 February 2024

Kevin Hayes Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Peter Le Grand Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Kevin Hayes Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as the Catanach’s Handicap over 1400m at Caulfield in 1984 as a Listed Race and was won by a filly called Fork Tongue. It was upgraded to the current Group 3 status in 2014. In 2023 the distance was reduced from 1200m to 1100m. In 2024 the name was changed fro the Kevin Hayes Stakes to the Peter Le Grand Stakes.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Set For Fame (2010) 1:08:66

Interesting trivia: Typhoon Tracy won this race in 2009 at her second start before winning a Coolmore Classic three runs later.

Past winners of the Kevin Hayes Stakes

Winners of past Kevin Hayes Stakes include Booker (2018), Fuhryk (2017), Sabatini (2015), Set For Fame (2010), Typhoon Tracy (2009), Absolut Glam (2008), Hollow Bullet (2005), French Bid (2004), Brief Embrace (2003), Fair Embrace (2002), Rainbow Bubbles (1999), Chalee (1997), Rubidium (1996), Mahaasin (1991) and Gilded Lily (1989).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Estriella Lazzago Brazen Style
2023 Rich Fortune Queen Of The Ball Cythera
2022 Argentia Scorched Earth Asfoora
2021 La Mexicana Malicorne Pinkham
2020 How Womantic Enfleurage Aquitaine
2019 Crack The Code News Girl Aperitif
2018 Booker Leather’n’lace See Me Exceed
2017 Fuhry Oregon’s Day Savanna Amour
2016 Risque Mossin’ Around Cana
2015 Sabatini Royal Snitzel Fontein Ruby
2014 Spirits Dance Marianne Patricia Dawn
2013 Octavia Member’s Joy Angelic Light
2012 Soft Sand Anabandana Glows
2011 Miss Gai Flyer Miss Elvee Pinker Pinker
2010 Set For Fame Aloha Dystopia
2009 Typhoon Tracy Bubble Below Boogaloo
2008 Absolut Glam Tranquility Base Vivacious Spirit
2007 Gina Lollawitcha Mistake Creek Anamato
2006 Chetwynd South Cayambe Doubting
2005 Hollow Bullet Dance At Ascot Astrodame
2004 French Bid Strikeline Hinting
2003 Brief Embrace Sensational Spot Tarcoola Diamond
2002 Fair Embrace Firm Li Lo Lill
2001 Queen Carey Comhere Johann’s Dream
2000 Heaps Of Fun Kaemess Be Cool
1999 Rainbow Bubbles Tarazeel Catnipped
1998 Drop Anchor Discretion Danequillo
1997 Chalee Pray For Reign Miss Jugah
1996 Rubidium Golden Sound Danish
1995 Eccentricity High Creek Peebinga Princess
1994 Adagietto Lady In Reality Bislotto
1993 Crazy Neaux
1992 Rockabye
1991 Mahaasin
1990 Sister Canny
1989 Gilded Lily
1988 Golden Unicorn
1987 Fashion Fun
1986 Nancress
1985 Winged Keel
1984 Fork Tongue