Hannan’s Handicap Race Information

The Hannan’s Handicap is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Kalgoorlie Boulder Racing Club in late September or early October. It is held at Kalgoorlie as the main race of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Kalgoorlie Racecourse, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Wednesday 4 October 2023

Hannan’s Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Hannans Handicap Preview and results

See the 2022 Hannans Handicap Preview  and results

See the 2021 Hannans Handicap Preview and results

The race was first run in March 1897 when it was won by a horse called Laura. Five months later in August 1897 a second Hannan’s handicap was held.

It is Kalgoorlie’s feature sprint race and is generally won by five or six-year-old geldings that have won or placed at their previous start.

Roger The Roman was second in 2017, 2018 and 2019 but only managed to run 5th in 2020.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Keyton Grace (2007)

Multiple winners: Stolen Thunder (1986 & 1984); Lorna’s Nuisance (1977, 1978 & 1979); Santa Brae (1975 & 1976); Trecratic (1944 & 1946); Circulus (1904 & 1946)

Fastest time (1400m): Tellem We’re Comin (2019) 1:21:39

Leading jockeys: Paul Harvey with 5 wins (Prince of Pop 2001; Tool Time 1999; Tiszae 1997; Bradson 1996; Ropak 1991).

Interesting trivia: In 1905 there was a dead-heat between Saltilo and Perplex.

Past winners of the Hannan’s Handicap

Winners of past Hannan’s Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Magnificent Andy Let’s Galahvant Cold Shizzle
2022 Let’s Galahvant Titan Blinders Excellent Dream
2021 Startthefriar Dig Deep That’s Funny Az
2020 Money Matters Pym’s Royale Yeah Dardy
2019 Tellem We’re Comin Roger The Roman Red Publisher
2018 Reykjavik Roger The Roman War God
2017 Disposition Roger The Roman Casino Belle
2016 Socially Unique Reflectance Flying Time
2015 Royal Rada Akhedasset Red Ora
2014 Sireeze Express Service Bippo No Bungus
2013 Mr Vadim Prost Trustee Brown
2012 Texan Reimbursement Zester
2011 Black George Our Ol’Fella Intimidator
2010 King Kool Kat Lucid Reflection Foxy Boy
2009 McLurch Oroya Gold Tudor Lad
2008 Fim Maru Matador Escadaire
2007 Keyton Grace Tarzi Wire Detonator
2006 Go The Surt Field Commander Wire Detonator
2005 Wire Detonator Hotel Casuarina Volition
2004 Ellicorsam Dead Eye Dick Scenic Mist
2003 Mapperholic Hardrada Irish Pride
2002 Corporate Bruce The Tin Man Jashar Boy
2001 Prince Of Pop Satan’s Halo Noble Sky
2000 Slideaway Terwilliger Corporate James
1999 Tool Time Corporate James Zedavite
1998 Go The Grey Crusoe Umah
1997 Tiszae Corporate James Restive
1996 Bradson Cranky Tikit Go The Grey