Grand Prix Stakes Race Information

The Grand Prix Stakes is a 2100 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club in mid-late December. It is held at Eagle Farm as the main feature event on the programme.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 December 2023

Grand Prix Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Grand Prix Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Grand Prix Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Grand Prix Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1971 as a Principal Race over 1.5 miles (about 2400m) at Eagle Farm and was won by a horse called Mode.  In 1973 the distance became 2400 metres then in 1975 it was reduced to 2200m. It was a Group 2 race from 1979 to 2005, then was downgraded to the current Group 3 status in 2006.  It used  to be a good lead-up to the Queensland Derby which was held a week later. In 2019 it was moved from May as part of the Winter Racing Carnival to December in the summer.  As a result it was run twice in 2019.

The distance was reduced from 2200m to 2100m in 2021.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Gypsy Goddess  (2021)

Fastest time (2100m): Kovalica  (2022) 2:09:59

Fastest time (2200m): Heavenly Thought (2018) 2:14:22

Grand Prix & Queensland Derby: Brambles (2012), Ice Chariot (2006), Half Hennessy (2003), Air Seattle (1993), Dorset Downs (1991), Hidden Rhythm (1989), Handy Proverb (1986), Librici (1984), Our Planet (1982), Mr Cromwell (1981), Kingston Town (1980), Double Century (1979), Lefroy (1978).

Interesting trivia: The Grand Prix Stakes was held twice in 2019 as it was moved from winter to summer.

Past winners of the Grand Prix Stakes

Winners of past Grand Prix Stakes include Sirmione (2007), Distinctly Secret (2002), Stargazer (1990), Handy Proverb (1986), Our Sophia (1985), Kingston Town (1980), Double Century (1979), Surround (1977), Balmerino (1976), Latin Knight (1972) and Mode (1971).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Encoder Kirikan Imezaaki
2022 Kovalica Noah ‘N’ A Deel Kandos Cosmos
2021 Gypsy Goddess Balmaurice Ironic Miss
2020 (Dec) The Elanora Toscanini Atonement
2019 (Dec) Chains Of Honour Mission Phoenix Mosshiki
2019 (May) Fun Fact Angel Of Heaven Home Made
2018 Heavenly Thought Han Xin Dark Dream
2017 Order Again Volatile Mix Violate
2016 Mackintosh Eagle Way Howard Be Thy Name
2015 Upham Redoubtable Heart Master Of Arts
2014 Vilanova Pinstripe Lane Rudy
2013 Hawkspur Rhythm To Spare Honorius
2012 Brambles Vatuvei Red Shift
2011 Turnitup Mr Light Blue Alma’s Fury
2010 Kutchinsky The Hombre Landlord
2009 Saint Minerva Markus Maximus The Grogoch
2008 Bell Academy Teary Eyed Petushki
2007 Sirmione My Centurion Currigee
2006 Ice Chariot Kincharm Just Grand
2005 Spuruson Willy Leica Atapi
2004 Reclaim Dodgem Russian Pearl
2003 Half Hennessy General Minolta Mahtoum
2002 Distinctly Secret Cassimir Arlington Road
2001 Reenact Air War Feed The Meter
2000 Make Mine Magic Freemason Fairway
1999 Conair Kugelhoph Camarena
1998  ** Race not run **    
1997  ** Race not run **    
1996 Faience Valance Super Slew
1995 Perfect Bound Danasinga Turridu
1994 Sky Watch Sapio Love Moves Me
1993 Air Seattle Palate Irish Rort
1992 In The Event Noteworthy Our Honfleur
1991 Dorset Downs Windy Morn Dr Glass
1990 Stargazer Rough Habit Anschluss
1989 Hidden Rhythm Chill Factor Easy Now
1988  ** Race not run **    
1987 Finezza Belle My Precocius Lad Princess Gracious
1986 Handy Proverb Reputed Tierra Rist
1985 Our Sophia Mr Merrymaker Prince Frolic
1984 Librici Look Aloft Riverdale
1983 So Good Claim The Quest Tristram Lad
1982 Our Planet Faustina Sovereign Chief
1981 Mr Cromwell Artist Man Ultimatum
1980 Kingston Town Red Kilt Star Dynasty
1979 Double Century He’ll Do Prunella
1978 Lefroy Belmura Lad Bunkers
1977 Surround Miner’s Inn Ming Dynasty
1976 Balmerino Cheyne Walk Our Cavalier
1975 Lord Randolph Yo Tambien Daring Play
1974 Asgard Dalrello Think Big
1973 Mighty Keys Alostar Air Voyager
1972 Latin Knight Foi De Boheme Meanmi Shadow
1971 Mode Planet Kingdom Chilton