Gosford Gold Cup Race Information

The Gosford Gold Cup is a 2100 metre quality handicap race run by the Gosford Race Club in May. It is held at Gosford as a feature event of the meeting on The Coast Race day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Gosford Racecourse, West Gosford, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

Gosford Gold Cup Race History

See the 2024 Gosford Gold Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Gosford Gold Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Gosford Gold Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 10 furlongs (about 2000m) in 1961 and was won by a horse called Our Add. In 1973 the distance became 2100m and in 198o it became a Listed race. It was upgraded to Group 3 status in 1986 but returned to the current Listed status in 2006.

Ran at Newcastle in 2024.

The winner is eligible for the Big Dance.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Polly Grey (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Fleet Zephyr (1973); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Dark Diamond (1971 & 1972); Top Missel (1963 & 1964).

Fastest time (2100m): Red Excitement (2017) 2:07:15

Interesting trivia: Run at Randwick in 2020. Not held in 1978, 1983, 1988, 1998, 2001, 2007 and 2009.

Past winners of the Gosford Gold Cup

Winners of past Gosford Gold Cups include Iron Horse (1997), Sprint By (1995), Comrade (1991), Riverdale (1985) and Denise’s Joy (1979).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Hezashocka Sir Lucan Double Cherry
2023 Esti Feny Navajo Peak Bois D’argent
2022 Numerian Great House Mirann
2021 Polly Grey Aliferous Wu Gok
2020 Another Dollar Ilwendo Best Of Days
2019 Sir Plush Satono Rasen Fabrizio
2018 Singing Red Excitement Mighty Lucky
2017 Red Excitement Sense Of Occasion Destiny’s Kiss
2016 Destiny’s Kiss Award Season Dream Folk
2015 Oriental Lady Phrases Multilateral
2014 Midsummer Sun Brigantin Destiny’s Kiss
2013 Moriarty Reuben Percival Travolta
2012 Straight Albert Wazn Legsman
2011 Keepin’ The Dream Strike One Alexander Of Hales
2010 Spinney Barlagarney Enzedex Eagle
2009  ** race not held **
2008 Bundoran Breeze Precise Timing Manapouri
2007  ** race not held **
2006 Break The Barrier Chess Record Gilded Youth
2005 Bush Honey Precise Timing Capri
2004 West Country Imperatrix Zabarra
2003 Silent Impact We’re Dancing A Star Affair
2002 Viva La Vie Hey Pronto Space Age
2001  ** race not held **
2000 Space Age Edward Brae Lanolin
1999 Karlperra Sea Jester Expect A Star
1998  ** race not held **
1997 Iron Horse Darbaas He’s Back On Track
1996 Darbaas Western Approaches Mac’s Victory
1995 Sprint By Red Eagle Kingstown
1994 Thrifty Reserve Antwerp Mine Blast
1993 Mamzelle Perdu Beachside Gifted Poet
1992 Moods Mantlepiece More Money
1991 Comrade Ricochet Rosie  Livistona Lane
1990 Livistona Lane Our Poverty Bay Mickey’s Town
1989 Regal Prize C’est La Vie Anybody Home
1988  ** race not held **
1987 Cimarra The Red Jack Gold Deck
1986 Sea Pictures Colour Page  Riverdale
1985 Riverdale Look Aloft Rose And Thistle
1984 Fountaincourt Godarchi Heroic Blaze
1983  ** race not held **
1982 My Star Sapphire Osmiridium Royal Paree
1981 Golden Rhapsody Wotta Krakka Very Real
1980 March To Glory Lough Lord Cosmic Delight
1979 Big Bickies Aparangi High Level
1978  ** race not held **
1977 Denise’s Joy Regalis Brick Veneer
1976 Rangitoto Wave King Kamazan
1975 Wave King St Martin Black Tetra
1974 St. Martin Drifted In Air Voyager
1973 Fleet Zephyr Dark Diamond Gold Skin
1972 Dark Diamond Cantina Blue The Gent
1971 Dark Diamond Genty’s Pride The Gent
1970 Le Gagnant Rapid Hour Worthy Son
1969 New Tiki Latin Rascal Opening Duel
1968 Red Prince Able Sal By Gee
1967 Prince Judea Loona Bay Blue Sequence
1966 Flotsam Crescent Marco Khan
1965 Indian Council Flotsam Wildara
1964 Top Missel Tavern King Steeplejack
1963 Top Missel Crystal Peak Real Brandy
1962 Real Brandy Espell Regular Action
1961 Our Add Meyisti Sir Light