Furious Stakes Race Information

The Furious Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for three-year-old fillies run by the Australian Turf Club in September. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 September 2023

Furious Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Furious Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Furious Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Furious Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Furious Stakes Preview and results

The race dates back to at least 1975, and became a Listed race in 1986 when it was won by La Cadeau. In 1995 it was upgraded to Group 2 status and in 2005 was upgraded to the current Group 2 status. It is normally held at Randwick but was run at Rosehill in 2000 and at Warwick Farm in 2004, 2011 and 2012. It was originally over 1400m and became the current 1200m distance from 2013 onwards.

Fun Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Bound For Earth (2013) 1:09:0

Fastest time (1400m): Melito (2009) 1:21:5

Furious Stakes & Flight Stakes: Unworldy (2000; Danglissa (1999); Sunline (1998); Dashing Eagle (1996 deadheat); Danarani (1994); Angst (1993); Research (1988); Tingo Tango (1985)

Interesting trivia: No Golden Slipper winner has won the Furious Stakes.

Past winners of the Furious Stakes

Winners of past Furious Stakes include some fillies that went on to bigger and better races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Tiz Invincible Kimochi Mumbai Muse
2022 North Star Lass Willinga Beast She’s Extreme
2021 Jamaea Robodira Mallory
2020 Dame Giselle Hungry Heart Forbidden Love
2019 Libertini Vilami Let it Pour
2018 Pure Elation Fiesta Pretty in Pink
2017 Formality Champagne Cuddles I Am Excited
2016 Foxplay Bacarella Global Glamour
2015 Speak Fondly Perignon Ottoman
2014 Winx Alpha Miss Earthquake
2013 Bound For Earth Guelph Thump
2012 Dear Demi Meidung Jade Marauder
2011 Streama Florentina Detours
2010 More Strawberries Divorces Parables
2009 Melito Hurtle Myrtle Lovemelikearock
2008 Samantha Miss Love And Kisses Portillo
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Just Dancing My Lady’s Chamber Gallant Tess
2005 Mnemosyne Media Permissive
2004 Prisoner of Love Wager Our Sweet Moss
2003 Shamekha Regimental Gal Spurcent
2002 Victory Vein Royal Purler Lavishly
2001 Moonflute Hosannah Ha Ha
2000 Unworldly Money Begets Money Preserve
1999 Danglissa Forest Express Katima
1998 Sunline Zaroyle Witchita
1997 Stella Cadente Soul Queen Stay Lucky
1996 Dashing Eagle Assertive Lass Cashier
1995 Seattle Gem Seika Night Club
1994 Danarani Street Theatre Aragen
1993 Angst Sashed Fitting
1992 Yodelay Skating Flitter
1991 Bold Promise Temple Fire Rouquin
1990 Twiglet Triscay Whisked
1989 Tristanagh Reverse Pass A Little Kiss
1988 Research Glenview Grey Fille
1987 Glory Girl Judyann The Cloisters
1986 La Cadeau Finezza Belle Evandale Star
1985 Tingo Tango Dance Hall Girl Normandy Bay
1984 Regal Presence Princess Jocinda Goleen
1983 Moonamby Tops Leecalled Sabre Dancer
1982 Explicit I Like Diamonds Blazing Silks
1981 Kweilin Lady Royal Paree Glamorous Jo
1980 Fiancee Thumb Print Diamond Park
1979 Great Klaire Aqua Blue Young Sally
1978 Belle Jamie Clever Honey Jeune Fille
1977 Great Lu Eastern Breeze August Palm
1976 Vain Queen La Neige Mollymae
1975 Notre Heart Spritely Arietta Wild Irish Rose