Ethereal Stakes Race Information

The Ethereal Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Caulfield Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO fiilies
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 21 October 2023

Ethereal Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Ethereal Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Ethereal Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Ethereal Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Ethereal Stakes Preview and results

The race was first run as a handicap in 2000 and was won by a filly called Lolita Star. From 2011 to 2014 it was ran as a Listed Race and from 2015 onwards has been a Group 3 race. It has been called the Ethereal Stakes from 2011 onwards.

This race is often used as a test or lead-up to longer staying races in the Melbourne Cup carnival for three-year-olds fillies. Those who handle it well often go on to contest the VRC Oaks two and a half weeks later.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (2000m): Arabian Gold (2013) 2:00:9

Ethereal Stakes  & VRC Oaks: Pinot (2017); Set Square (2014).

Interesting trivia: The race is named in honour of the 2001 Caulfield Cup – Melbourne Cup double champion mare Ethereal.

Past winners of the Ethereal Stakes

Winners of past Ethereal Stakes include Verry Elleegant (2018), Pinot (2017), Set Square (2014), Arabian Gold (2013), Run For Naara (2009), Estee (2008), Astronomia (2005), Timbourina (2003), Hierogram (2002), Gold Lottey (2001) and Lolita Star (2000).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Autumn Angel Tropical Squall Basilinna
2022 Renaissance Woman Foxy Cleopatra Pavitra
2021 Daisies Glint Of Hope Biscayne Bay
2020 Chica Fuerte Salto Angel Star Of Eden
2019 Gamay Vegas Jewel Celestial Falls
2018 Verry Elleegant Aristia Sizzleme
2017 Pinot Rimraam Hiyaam
2016 Eleonora Tiamo Grace Savvan
2015 Dawnie Perfect Honesta Ambience
2014 Set Square Maastricht Imperial Lass
2013 Arabian Gold Solicit Refer
2012 Alzora Summerbliss Transomic
2011 Gliding Dowager Queen Gioe
2010 Dizlago Placement Bride Salama