Doncaster Prelude Race Information

The Doncaster Prelude is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, one week before the Doncaster.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 March 2021

Doncaster Prelude Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Skyerush (2013)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Allgunadoit (2004); Filly – ?

Multiple winners: None

Fastest time (1500m): Yao Dash (2021) 1:28:34

Interesting trivia: No Doncaster Prelude winner has won the Doncaster.

Past winners of the Doncaster Prelude

Winners of past Doncaster Preludes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Yao Dash Mister Sea Wolf Bottega
2020 Cascadian Mask Of Time Gaulois
2019 Mister Sea Wolf Abdon Tom Melbourne
2018 Cellarman Ecuador Mister Sea Wolf
2017 Spectroscope No Doubt Marenostro
2016 Havana Cooler Cosmic Cube Rudy
2015 Excess Knowledge Malice Leebaz
2014 Weary Leebaz I’m Imposing
2013 Skyerush Alma’s Fury Illo
2012 Fast Clip Speediness Alma’s Fury
2011 My Kingdom of Fife Hidden Wonder Bold Glance
2010 Brilliant Light Gold Water Snapy Halo
2009 Dao Dao Musket Pins On Parade
2008 Valedictum Master Magic Theseo
2007 Mr Ubiquitous Mystery City A Country Girl
2006 Gorgonite Mindreader Legendary Man
2005 Osca Warrior Fire At Will Gabfest
2004 Allgunadoit Cariboo Jeremiad
2003 Helsinborg On A High Palladium Star
2002 Defier Salgado Hire
2001 Final Fantasy Old Man Spying
2000 Le Zagaletta Summa Cum Laude Roulette
1999 Adam Fraud Zuccherino
1998 Corporate James Yacquina Bay York
1997 Ravarda Burrito Here’s The Prince
1996 Buzzoff Persian Flyer Pimpala Son
1995 Salivate Sprint By My Diamond Rouge
1994 Cobbora Zinders Rouslan
1993 Blue Boss Pharaoh Highpak
1992 Alderson Rose Road Enjoy Dancing
1991 Livistona Lane Spot The Rock Prince Trialia
1990 Painted Ocean  Prince Triala Merimbula Bay
1989 Card Shark Dancing Poet Allez Streak
1988 Tumble On Magic Gleam Sound Horizon
1987 Eastern Classic Belliho My Precocious Lad
1986 Swift Cheval Eye Of The Sky Sea Pictures
1985 Bring Home Row Of Waves Premier Flight