Crystal Mile Race Information

The Crystal Mile is a 1600 metre weight for age race run by the Moonee Valley Racing  Club on Cox Plate day in October. It is run at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Crystal Mile Race History

See the 2023 Crystal Mile Preview and results

See the 2022 Crystal Mile Preview and results

See the 2021 Crystal Mile Preview and results

The race was first held in 1982 when it was won by a horse called Getting Closer. It was a Listed race from 1982 to 1985 then was upgraded to a Group 3 race from 1983 to 1996. It was upgraded to the current Group 2 status in 1997.

Crystal Mile Facts

Last mare to win: no mare has won the Crystal Mile

Last 3YO to win: no three-year-old has won the Crystal Mile

Multiple winners: Weasel Will (2000 & 2001)

Fastest time (1600m): Ark Regal (1990) 1:33:2

Interesting trivia: Weasel Will who was the only horse to win the Crystal Mile more than once, ran 2nd to Royal Code in 2002.

Past winners of the Crystal Mile

Winners of past Crystal Miles include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Prowess Antino Tuvalu
2022 My Oberon Bankers Choice Buffalo River
2021 Just Folk Begood Toya Mother Elephant
2020 Homesman Age Of Chivalry Kings Will Dream
2019 Chief Ironside Cliff’s Edge Best Of Days
2018 Cliff’s Edge Prized Icon Duca Valentinois
2017 Lucky Hussler Religify It’s Somewhat
2016 The United States Lidari Ulmann
2015 Turn Me Loose Bow Creek Lucky Hussler
2014 Hooked Bull Point Desert Jeuney
2013 Toydini Speediness Sacred Falls
2012 Silent Achiever Rangirangdoo Solzhenitsyn
2011 Testa My Patience Hawks Bay He’s Remarkable
2010 Sound Journey Trader Drumbeats
2009 Rangirangdoo Sound Of Nature All American
2008 Sea Battle Conquering Orange County
2007 Sonic Quest Orange County Tears I Cry
2006 Flash Trick New Edge Rockford Bay
2005 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Potential
2004 Lad Of The Manor Lord Mick Sir Dex
2003 Rosina Lad Walk On Air Archave
2002 Royal Code Weasel Will Excellerator
2001 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Typhoon
2000 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Czar Hero
1999 Le Zagaletta Daicos Bebetto
1998 Rustic Dream Corporate James Irish Air
1997 Holy Roller Miss Tessla Mighty Way
1996 Lochrae Scenic Royale Buzzoff
1995 Juggler State Taj Sportsbeat
1994 State Taj Play Or Pay Innocent King
1993 Carsons Cash Station Hand Mr Untouchable
1992 Solvit Vows Instrumental
1991 Fire Commander Brunchtime Gamine
Cheval Cavalier
1990 Ark Regal Comrade Brilliant Invasion
1989 Fendalton High Baliff Acid Print
1988 True Dreams Tierra Rist Eastern Classic
1987 Tierra Rist Magic Konstev Luther’s Luck
1986 Splendid Speed Reputed Deedle
1985 Dazzling Duke Mrs Fitzherbert Lockley’s Tradition
1984 Keepers Exemplify Ranger’s Son
1983 Dynamo French Current Ranger’s Son
1982 Getting Closer Synsky Our Planet