City Of Marion Stakes Race Information

The City Of Marion Stakes is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in late November. It is held at Morphettville as the feature event of the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 February 2024

City Of Marion Stakes Race History

See the 2024 City Of Marion Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 City Of Marion Stakes Preview and results.

The race was originally a Principal Race over 1200m called the SAJC Simsmetal Stakes and was won by Open Cut in 1974. In 1978 the distance was increased to 1450m and in 1979 it became a Listed Race. In 1983 the distance returned to 1200m for one year then in 1984 it was reduced to 1100m. In 1986 the name became the SAJC City Stakes, then in 1987 the distance was reduced again to 1000m. The distance returned to 1200m and in 1996 it became the SAJC City Of Marion Stakes. In 2000 and 2001 it was held over 1250m. In was run in November 2022 and then the timing was changed so the next running will be February 2024.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Diamonds (2022)

Multiple winners: Lipman (1976 & 1977)

Fastest time (1200m): El Maze (2007) 1:08:24

Leading jockeys: Paul Gatt with 4 wins (The Eighth Maker 2011; About Ready 2010; Squillani 2004; Suzy Grey 2001).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the City Of Marion Stakes

Winners of past City Of Marion Stakes include some handy sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Snapped Grinzinger Prince My Khalifa
2023  ** RACE NOT RUN
2022 Diamonds Manhatten Times Morvada
2021 Outlaws Revenge Rock The Ring Diamonds
2020 One More Jack Trip Too Good Too Hard
2019 Benz Nipperkin Aiguilette
2018 Illustrious Lad Nariko Platinum Angel
2017 Steel Frost Casino Wizard Sudden Wealth
2016 Cavaloce Lope De Capio Mubakkir
2015 Lord Aspen Baligari Karacatis
2014 Whitlam Brimarvi Prince Exodus
2013 Addiction To Rock Essay Raider Dash For Viz
2012 Hidden Value Rescue Mission Just Discreet
2011 The Eighth Maker Outlandish Lad Rocking Force
2010 About Ready Rock The Moment Miss With Attitude
2009 Catapulted Blahnik Tramuntana
2008 Satara Rough Chance Royal Ida
2007 El Maze St Trinians Amyjaye Power
2006 Miss Mooney Mooney Bold Line Play To Win
2005 Navy Shaker  Royal Ida Mt Billy
2004 Squillani Fly For Me Savage Attack
2003 Lemonade Parade Starhere Winning Spirit
2002 Empress Waltz Real Time Oh So Discreet
2001 Suzy Grey Ken Cheval Dimness
2000 Lazing About Border Time Meteora
1999 Mr Sands Lord Shiraz Lake Villa