Christmas Classic Race Information

The Christmas Classic is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late December or early January. It is held at as one of the feature races of the day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Canterbury Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Friday 1 January 2021

Christmas Classic Race History

See the 2021 Christmas Classic Preview and Results.

Run at Randwick in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Madam Rouge (2019)

Multiple winners: Fouardee (2001 & 2002);

Fastest time (1200m): Alizee (2018) 1:08:77

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Christmas Classic

Winners of past Christmas Classics include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Jan Eleven Eleven Discharged Inanup
2019 Madam Rouge Glenall Albumin
2018 Alizee Husson Eagle Fell Swoop
2017 Music Magnate Dothraki Isorich
2016 Le Cordon Bleu Wouldn’t It Be Nice Grunderzeit