Chandler Macleod Stakes Race Information

The Chandler Macleod Stakes is a 1200 metre handicap race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in late August or early September. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Handicap
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 5 September 2020

Chandler Macleod Stakes Race History

See the 2020 Chandler Macleod Stakes Preview and Results

The race was first held in 2012 when it was won by Sea Lord, and in it’s short history has had a variety of names including the Drummond Golf Stakes, The Cup Club Stakes, SAJ Fruit Supply Stakes and the Strathmore Community Bendigo Bank Stakes.

In 2019 the race was won by The Inevitable, ahead of Deprive and Spirit of Valor and paid $3.10 for punters. His time of 1:10.53 narrowly missed the race record held by inaugural winner Sea Lord.

The race has been won by some notable horses  including Voodoo Lad and Brave Smash. 2016 winner Voodoo Lad amassed almost $2 million in prize money and won the 2018 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes. 2017 winner Brave Smash won almost $3 million in prize money and claimed victory in two Group 1 races.

No horse has won the Chandler Macleod Stakes more than once but trainer Darren Weir won it in 2016, 2017 and 2018 with three different horses.

Chandler Macleod Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: none

Multiple winners: none

Fastest time (1200m): Sea Lord (2012) 1:10:42

Leading trainers: Darren Weir with 3 wins (Land Of Plenty 2018; Brave Smash 2017; Voodoo Lad 2016)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Chandler Macleod Stakes

Winners of past Chandler Macleod Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Showmanship Felicia Age Of Chivalry
2019 The Inevitable Deprive Spirit Of Valor
2018 Land Of Plenty Peaceful State Al Passem
2017 Brave Smash El Divino Revolving Door
2016 Voodoo Lad Keen Array Sebring Sun