Chairman’s Handicap Race Information

The Chairman’s Handicap is a 2600 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club held in April. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, and the winner is exempt from the ballot of the Sydney Cup.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 April 2024

Chairman’s Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Chairman’s Quality Preview and results.

See the 2023 Chairman’s Quality Preview and results.

See the 2022 Chairman’s Quality Preview and results.

Winner of this race is exempt from ballot and penalty for the 2024 Sydney Cup.

Chairman’s Handicap Facts

Last mare to win: Nerve Not Verve (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – none; Filly – none

Multiple winners: Tremec (2013 & 2015); No Wine No Song (2007 & 2008)

Fastest time (2600m): Sir Charles Road (2018) 2:41:57

Chairman’s Handicap & Sydney Cup: The Offer (2014); Jessicabeel (2010); No Wine No Song (2008); Henderson Bay (2002); Linesman (1997); King Aussie (1990); Major Drive (1987); Marooned (1986)

Interesting trivia: In 2003 Grey Song survived a protest from Honor Babe.

Past winners of the Chairman’s Handicap

Several winners of past Chairman’s Handicaps have gone on to win the Sydney Cup.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Circle Of Fire Hopeful Double Cherry
2023 Surefire Gin Martini Nerve Not Verve
2022 Nerve Not Verve Knights Order Luncies
2021 Quick Thinker Rondinella Paths Of Glory
2020 Raheen House Carif Mirage Dancer
2019 Gallic Chieftain Shraaoh Semari
2018 Sir Charles Road Ventura Storm Peribsen
2017 Big Duke Aloft Rock On
2016 Libran Alegria Cafe Society
2015 Tremec Sir John Hawkwood Grand Marshal
2014 The Offer Tremec Hippopus
2013 Tremec Blood Brotha Aliyana Tilde
2012 Permit Older Than Time Nextanix
2011 Once Were Wild Anudjawun C’est Le Guerre
2010 Jessicabeel No Wine No Song Harris Tweed
2009 Divine Rebel Ice Chariot Common Objective
2008 No Wine No Song Sky Biscuit Resolution
2007 No Wine No Song Prince Arthur Magic Instinct
2006 Fooram Three Chimneys Cross Bar
2005 Philosophe Padfoot Charlie County Tyrone
2004 Mummify County Tyrone Saturday Fever
2003 Grey Song Honor Babe County Tyrone
2002 Henderson Bay Homewrecker Asia
2001 Steel Phoenix Giovana Wellington
2000 Pravda Consolidator Regal Touch
1999 Steel Phoenix Lahar For The Moment
1998 Joss Sticks Pharagrove Court of Honour
1997 Linesman Nimzo Indian Aurum Heights
1996 Cornwall King Racing Writer Seto Bridge
1995 Spiritual Star Daacha Balmeressa
1994 Paris Fire Cross Swords Red For Go
1993 Te Akau Nick Chishendo Mercator
1992 Demerit Val D’Arno Magnolia Hall
1991 Prizaan String Quartet Fill The Bill
1990 King Aussie Chaleyer Gopak
1989 Just Trish Palace Revolt Tawriffic
1988 Round The World Banderol Our Palliser
1987 Major Dive Silver Award Rastes
1986 Marooned Astrolin Duanette’s Girl
1985 Duanette’s Girl Astrolin Late Show
1984 What A Nuisance No Peer Rock Show
1983 Lord Mop Lost Valley Gala Mascot
1982 Bianco Lady Noble Comment Azawary
1981 Gatcombe Brindisi Lord Folkestone
1980 Just Jealous Pigalle Play The Game
1979 Lady Dignitas Mr. Bluebeard Rhalif