Caulfield Guineas Prelude Race Information

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the Melbourne Racing Club in September. It is held at Caulfield on Underwood Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 September 2020

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Race History

See the 2020 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Preview and Results

The race was first run in 1985 and was won by Brequillo. It was a Listed Race from 1990 to 2000 and has been a Group 3 race since 2001. It was previously known as the Show Day Stakes.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Helmet (2011) 1:21:4

Caulfield Guineas Prelude & Caulfield Guineas: Anacheeva (2010); Wonderful World (2006); Alfa (1996)

Interesting trivia: Three horses have been runner-up in the Prelude and gone on to win the Caulfield Guineas (God’s Own 2005; In Top Swing 2003 and Show A Heart 2000).

Past winners of the Caulfield Guineas Prelude

Winners of past Caulfield Guineas Preludes include Wonderful World (2006), Apache Cat (2005), Elvstroem (2003) and Strategic (1995).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Crosshaven Amish Boy National Choice
2019 Alligator Blood Dalasan Groundswell
2018 Native Soldier Tavisan Long Leaf
2017 Perast Summer Passage Kementari
2016 Sacred Elixir Revolving Door Wazzenme