Carlyon Stakes Race Information

The Carlyon Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights plus penalties race for horses aged four-years-old and upwards run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in late August. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 22 August 2020

Carlyon Stakes Race History

See the 2020 Carlyon Stakes Preview and Results.

The race has been run as the Carlyon stakes since 2012 and before that was run as the Printhouse Graphics Stakes.

Carlyon Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Missrock (2017)

Multiple winners: Broken (2012 & 2013)

Fastest time (1000m): Iconic (2014) 0:57:75

Leading jockeys: Nicholas Hall with 3 wins (Iconic 2014; Broken 2012 & 2013)

Leading trainers: Darren Weir with 2 wins (Broken 2012 & 2013)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Carlyon Stakes

Winners of past races are mainly geldings.

Year Winner Second Third
2019 Assertive Approach Bons Away Oak Door
2018 Faatinah Sunday Escape Mr Sneaky
2017 Missrock Heatherly Lady Esprit
2016 Heatherly Viddora O’malley