Calaway Gal Stakes Race Information

The Calaway Gal Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-old fillies run by the Brisbane Racing Club in December. It is held at Eagle Farm as one of the feature races on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO fillies
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 December 2020

Calaway Gal Stakes Race History

The race was first held as the C.E. McDougall Stakes over 1200m at Eagle Farm on 17 December 2005 when it was won by Tantra trained by Gai Waterhouse and ridden by Scott Seamer. The race wasn’t held in 2007 due to equine influenza, then in 2008 the distance was reduced to 1000m. In 2009 the name was changed to the Calaway Gal Stakes. In 2013 it was moved to Doomben where it was run until 2019 over 1010m (2013), 1050m (2014-2015) and 1110m (2016 -2019). In 2020 it returned to Eagle Farm over 1000m.

The equivalent race for colts and geldings is the Phelan Ready Stakes which has a much longer history, dating back to 1939.

Calaway Gal was a brown filly/mare foaled on 21 August 1999  who won the 2002 Golden Slipper.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1000m): Military Rose (2009) 0:57:26

Interesting trivia: Chris Munce won as a jockey on Military Grace (2010) and Discreet (2011) then won as a trainer in 2016 (Champ Elect). Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Calaway Gal Stakes

Winners of past Calaway Gal Stakes include horses that go on to win Group races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Sweet Dolly Fake Love Rhapsody Rose
2019 Away Game Smart ‘N’ Sexy Miss Lot Won
2018 Better Reflection Boomstress Single Blonde
2017 Outback Barbie Granny Red Shoes Witherspoon
2016 Champ Elect Make My Own Luck Dream Kisses