The Brisbane Cup is a Group 2 thoroughbred horse race for three-year-olds and up, and is one of the main events of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival. The Queensland Turf Club hosts the 2400m event on its Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane.

  • Race Type: Group 2, Quality Handicap
  • Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland (moved to Doomben for 2017 & 2018)
  • Date: Saturday 5 June 2021

[include file=”include-bookmakers.php”]

The Brisbane Cup was a Group 1 race held over 3200 metres, until 2007 when it was downgraded to a Group 2 and reduced to 2400 metres. It is normally held on the Queen’s Birthday holiday weekend in June on the same day as the Stradbroke Handicap and Queensland Derby.

The Brisbane Cup is also one of the principal lead up races to the Melbourne Cup. The handicap race was first run at Eagle Farm in 1871. It was not held from 1942 to 1945 because the farm was taken over by the army to become Camp Ascot. In 2017 and 2018 it was switched to 2200m at Doomben because of issues with the track surface at Eagle Farm.

Brisbane Cup Final Field & Odds 2018

Brisbane Cup Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft   Weather: Showers

Following the early scratching of Rising Red, there are only nine runners for the $300,000 2018 Pages Event Hire Brisbane Cup. The early favourite is Sedanzer who won the Scone Cup before 3rd in the Group 3 Premier’s Cup here. Second favourite is Ambitious who was held up before running on well for 3rd in the Doomben Cup last start. Third favourite is Kiwia who was 4th in the Premier’s Cup.

Megablast is a well-performed New Zealander who ran 3rd in the Group 2 PJ O’Shea Stakes. Naval Warfare was run down late for a close 2nd in the McKell Cup over 2400m last start. Nozomi was 6th in the Premier’s Cup, but has won over this distance. The other three runners are all at 20 to 1or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Ambitious
5 Sedanzer
2 Megablast
8 Anton En Avant

Previous winners of the Brisbane Cup:

Art Success, a four-year-old gelding, won the Brisbane Cup in 2006. He rider was A. Patillo and trained by J. Collins. Portland Singa won in 2005.

Other recent champions include Danestorm, 2004 and 2002; Piachay, 2003; Star Covet, 2001; Yippyio, 2000; Sheer Kingston, 1999; Praise Indeed, 1998; Desert Chill, 1997 and 1995; and Dupain, 1996. The most successful jockey at the Brisbane Cup is Chris Munce who has been aboard three winners: Desert Chill in 1997 and 1995, and Grooming in 1992. The top trainer with five Brisbane Cup champions is T. J. Smith. He saddled winners in 1984, 1974, 1971, 1965 and 1961.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 ** Race not run **
2019 Sixties Groove Grey Lion Big Duke
2018 Sedanzer Anton En Avant Kiwia
2017 Chocante (NZ) Single Gaze Pemberley (NZ)
2016 Benzini Sir John Hawkwood (IRE) Junoob (GB)
2015 Jetset Lad (NZ) Sense Of Occasion Epingle (NZ)
2014 Floria (NZ) Moriarty (IRE) Zephyron (NZ)
2013 Moriarty (IRE) Quintessential Zennista
2012 Lights Of Heaven Dance With Her Mawingo
2011 Tullamore Glass Harmonium De Fine Lago
2010 Crossthestart Scouting Wide Ekstreme
2009 Scenic Shot Ready To Lift Tinseltown
2008 Viewed Fulmonti Sky Biscuit
2007 Newport Lilakyn Ice Chariot
2006 Art Success Gorgeous George Sculptor
2005 Portland Singa Shamrock Shore Regal Punch
2004 Danestorm Pentastic Upsetthym
2003 Piachay County Tyrone Homewrecker
2002 Prized Gem Majestic Avenue Nauders
2001 Star Covet Citi Habit Karasi
2000 Yippyio Sharscay Karasi