Bright Shadow Quality Race Information

The Bright Shadow Quality is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, Fillies & mares,  3YO & upwards
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 May 2022

Bright Shadow Quality Race History

See the 2022 Bright Shadow Quality Preview and Results.

The race was first held in 2006 as fillies and mares event over 1200m as part of the Brisbane Racing Carnival and was won by La Montagna trained by Barry Baldwin and ridden by Scott Galloway. A few weeks later she won the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap.

The race is named after one of Queenland’s greatest mares who raced in the 1960’s and 70’s. Bright Shadow had 17 wins that include the 1968 Queensland Oaks, the 1969 Tattersall’s Cup and the 1970 Tancred Stakes (now known as The BMW) during the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

In 2022 it was moved to Eagle Farm due to heavy rain during the week before.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win: Dual Chamber (2010)

Fastest time (1200m): Dublin Lass (2015) 1:08:46

Leading jockey: Jim Byrne with 3 wins (Bidii Babe 2017; My First Affair 2009; Strawberry Malt 2007).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Bright Shadow Quality

Winners of past Bright Shadow Qualitys include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2022 Written Beauty Tahitian Dancer Letzbeglam
2021 Outback Barbie Intrepidacious Blazing Miss
2020 Jami Lady Fiesta Pennino
2019 Quilista Test The World River Racer
2018 Secret Trail Crystal Fountain O’Rachael
2017 Bidii Babe Untamed Diamond Dee Nine Elle
2016 Palazzo Pubblico Serenade Miss Tenpins
2015 Dublin Lass Glenbawn Dame Hidden Pearl
2014 Avaladyluck Saturn Rock Little Brown Horse
2013 Detours Sharnee Rose Dystopia
2012 Cariad Funtantes Risk Aversion
2011 Jasminka Alberton Park Just Been Lucky
2010 Dual Chamber Acquired Tracy’s Choice
2009 My First Affair Michelle Cafea Rocklet
2008 Vietnam Lasoron White Diamonds
2007 Strawberry Malt Miss Judgement Aquareine
2006 La Montagna Shepishir Devil Inside