Breeders Stakes Race Information

The Breeders Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in April. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 April 2024

Breeders Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Breeders’ Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Breeders’ Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Breeders’ Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Breeders Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) in 1955 called the Bloodhorse Breeders’ Stakes and was won by a horse called Eminent Star, In 1979 it became a Group 2 race but was downgraded to the current Group 3 status in 2006.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Treasurway (2023)

Fastest time (1200m): Pelt (2001) 1:09:29

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Breeders Stakes

Winners of past Breeders Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Growing Empire Flattered Flyer
2023 Treasurway Heuristic Harley’n’rose
2022 See You In Heaven Twin Stars Hope At Hand
2021 Cloudy Karacasu Isles Of Avalon
2020 Ecumenical Crown Mint Ranting
2019 Kooweerup Memphis Rock She Shao Fly
2018 Tequila Time Fundamentalist Krone
2017 Broadband Time Awaits Artstrum
2016 Tris Ariaz Smart Manoeuvre
2015 Last Bullet The Grey Flash Battle Brewing
2014 London Lolly Go Indy Go Deiheros
2013 Excites Zelady Murtle Turtle Bring A Ring
2012 Big Chill Underestimation Monica Kate
2011 Rockshaft Redangelo Spirited Princess
2010 Shrapnel Yosei Miss With Attitude
2009 Colour Mrs Kipling Miss With Attitude
2008 Augusta Proud Testy Shadrach
2007 Murjana Armanjena Miss Hijinx
2006 De Lago Mist Changing Eyes Danever
2005 Freestyle Yellowstone Strikes Back
2004 Deprivation Barely A Moment Marnie D’Or
2003 Syrinx Barabba Road Regrowth
2002 Great Glen Yell Presumed Innocent
2001 Pelt La Lagune Cosmic Strike
2000 Happy Morning Sarson Trail Surfboard
1999 Ruthless Tycoon Akhenaton Camargue
1998 Astralita Admired Aspaade
1997 Gold Guru Around The Ring Suit
1996 Zeya Excel Pilot Lake Villa
1995 Padre El Qahiras Son Dance Spirit
1994 Blevic Lead The Charge Blight
1993 Laubali Flurrys Autumn All Lit Up
1992 Credit Account Let Him Ride Mookta
1991 Jakpil Umatilla Tea Habit
1990 Berberia Alishan Black Opera
1989 Golden Prayer Gleam High Zaparri
1988 Sovereign Lady Queen Regent Record Dash