BRC Sprint Race Information

The BRC Sprint is a 1350 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1350 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 25 May 2024

BRC Sprint Race History

See the 2024 BRC Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2023 BRC Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2022 BRC Sprint Preview and results.

The race was first held as the Listed BTC Sprint over 1350m in 1985 and was won by a horse called Final Affair. From 1991 to 1995 it was named the BATC Sprint. In 1996 the name reverted to the BTC Sprint and it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status. It was run over 1200m in 1987 when it was won by Catering King, and in 2020 when it was won by Tambo’s Mate. It has been over 1350m in all other years.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Beaded (2010)

Last 3YO to win: Filly – Ballet Society (2005);  C& G – Zariz (2001)

Multiple winners: Pleasure Giver (1999 & 2000); Tiny’s Finito (1990 & 1991)

Fastest time (1350m): Chief De Beers (1998) 1:17:50

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the BRC Sprint

Winners of past BRC Sprints include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Here To Shock Freedom Rally Prince Of Boom
2023 Surf Dancer Dragon Leap Cardinal Gem
2022 Soxagon Alligator Blood Niccanova
2021 Emerald Kingdom Tofane Axe
2020 Tambo’s Mate Deep Image Outback Barbie
2019 Tyzone Violate I’m A Rippa
2018 I’m A Rippa Privlaka Mr Sneaky
2017 Jungle Edge High Midnight Ulmann
2016 Snippets Land Religify Artlee
2015 Charlie Boy Rock Sturdy Nite Rocker
2014 River Lad Benny’s Buttons Fire Up Fifi
2013 Belltone Mahisara Listen Son
2012 Tiger Tees Meet George Steel Zip
2011 Woorim Listen Son Thankgodyou’rehere
2010 Beaded Secrets Untold Drenalin
2009 Court Command El Cambio Hard To Catch
2008 Helideck Absolut Glam Mr Hornblower
2007 Friday Creek Mr Hornblower Son Of Dane
2006 Hard To Catch Amex Consular
2005 Ballet Society River To The Sea Recapitalize
2004 True Glo Falkirk Patezza
2003 Emission Cariboo Court Of Jewels
2002 Carael Boy Make Mine Magic King Lotto
2001 Zariz King Lotto Treasure The Kwila
2000 Pleasure Giver Brighter Scene Narwong
1999 Pleasure Giver Rodway Sea Adam
1998 Chief De Beers Blazing Steel Ajaccio
1997 Poetic King Chief De Beers Confiscate
1996 Taos Gold Ace Quick Return
1995 Cohort Chief De Beers Inside Edge
1994 Simonstad All Our Mob Capestad
1993 Kenfair Friends Venture Danjiki
1992 Barrosa Boy Baanya Boy Megs Ego
1991 Tinys Finito Miss Comanche Dannatelle
1990 Tinys Finito Potrero Prince Trialia
1989 Count Henri Potrero Dieu D’Or
1988 Lots Of Rule Mirraben Cool Report
1987 Catering King Atlantic Mission Mac’s Treasure
1986 High Signal Pete’s Choice Rode Rouge
1985 Final Affair Sports Ruler Sparkle Free