Bernborough Plate Race Information

The Bernborough Plate is a 1600 metre set weights and penalties race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in late December. It is held at Doomben as one of the feature events on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights and penalties
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 December 2023

Bernborough Plate Race History

See the 2023 Bernborough Plate Preview and results.

See the 2022 Bernborough Handicap Preview and results.

When The Harrovian won in 2020 it was his 11th consecutive win and he looked gone 100m from home but somehow wouldn’t give up and got his nose across the line first in the most exciting finish of the day where any of six or seven horses could have won 50m out. Then there was a protest from the rider of Niccanova, the 2019 winner, which was dismissed.

Moved from Eagle Farm to Doomben in 2021. Back to Eagle Farm in 2023.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Tinto (2014)

Fastest time (1200m): Cylinder Beach (2016) 1:34:51

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Bernborough Plate

Winners of past Bernborough Plates include some good milers.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Acquitted Without Revenge The Vowels
2022 Skyman Aramayo Seat Of Power
2021 Kubrick Charmmebaby The Harrovian
2020 The Harrovian Niccanova Skate To Paris
2019 Niccanova Looks Like Elvis Cool Chap
2018 Bergerac Honey Toast Bluebrook
2017 Someday Ruettiger Hopfgarten
2016 Cylinder Beach Man Of His Word Hopfgarten