Beaufine Stakes Race Information

The Beaufine Stakes is a 1000 metre quality handicap race run by the West Australian Turf Club in July. It is held at Belmont as the feature race of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 8 July 2023

Beaufine Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Beaufine Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Beaufine Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1979 where Nilotic ridden by Gerry Donnelly was the first home in the field of 15 starters ahead of Saba Minx and Gypsy Princess.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Essential Spice (2020)

Multiple winners: Nerodio (2021 & 2022); Great Nation (2005 & 2006); Danzig Beau (1995 & 1996)

Fastest time (1000m): For Your Eyes Only (2010) 0:56:61

Leading jockeys: Two jockeys have 4 wins each. Paul Harvey (Vizard 2008, Great Nation 2006, Willoughby 1999, Bradson 1997). Paul Dyson (The Profiteer 1998, Ever Ready 1987, Bosanquet 1986, Loan Board 1984).

Leading trainers: Vern Brockman with 4 wins ( Great Nation 2005 & 2006; Lady Wild 2001; I’m On Clover 1982)

Interesting trivia: Alana Williams is the only female rider to win the Beaufine Stakes aboard Lady Wild in 2001. Highest weight carried by a winner was Willoughby with 59.5 kg in 1999.

Past winners of the Beaufine Stakes

Winners of past Beaufine Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Ghost Who Walks Real Danger Nerodio
2022 Nerodio Mervyn Resortman
2021 Nerodio Gemma’s Son Amasenus
2020 Essential Spice Saracino Mervyn
2019 Market Ruler Electric Light Rock Magic
2018 Durendal Pretentious Chant Profit Street
2017 It’s It First Among Equals Lockroy
2016 Military Reign Malibu Style Rock Magic
2015 Rock Magic Rebel King Mad Brad
2014 Pininci Smoko Recode
2013 Settle Strada The Entourage Acorns
2012 Megem’s Boy Latoria Hadabeclorka
2011 All Friared Up Kid Choisir Shock Value
2010 For Your Eyes Only Ma Ma Machine Casper Cowboy
2009 Ma Ma Machine Danes Mystery Vain Raider
2008 Vizard So Secret Diamond Highway
2007 Real Mak So Secret Scuffs
2006 Great Nation Impressive Stats Gobiton
2005 Great Nation Arctic Park Mercury Halo
2004 River Mist Amba Ale Pure Excitement
2003 Irish Pride Fair Alert Double Jewel
2002 Kaprats Metallurgy Mystery Command
2001 Lady Wild Cool Business Erin Pak
2000 Zabaset Durham Express Bar Screamer
1999 Willoughby Biscarhythm Durham Express
1998 The Profiteer Bradson Corporate Memory
1997 Bradson Go The Grey Western Princess
1996 Danzig Beau Don Pasquale French Sound
1995 Danzig Beau Asian Incline Mobile Link
1994 Key Business Wabasso Double Dignity
1993 Star Pet Real Magic Blonde Jev
1992 Real Magic Quaalup
1991 Winter Show
1990 Bovader