Asian Beau Stakes Race Information

The Asian Beau Stakes is a 1400 metre open handicap race run by the Western Australian Turf Club in late October or early November. It is held at Ascot as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Asian Beau Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Asian Beau Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Asian Beau Stakes Preview and results.

It was first held in 1982 when it was won by a horse called Nitro and was for horses three-years-old and up until 1987. It was a Listed race from 1985 to 1998 and was upgraded to its current Group 3 status in 1999.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Galaxy Star (2018)

Last 3YO to win: none

Multiple winners: none

Fastest time (1400m): El Presidente (2007) 1:21:26

Leading jockeys: Pat Carbery with 6 wins (Pounamu 2018; Westriver Kevydonn 2012; Gilded Venom 2008; Umah 1999; Look Of Success 1997; Classy Dresser 1994).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Asian Beau Stakes

Winners of past Asian Beau Stakes include Galaxy Star (2018), Platinum Rocker (2013), Luckygray (2011), Idyllic Prince (2006), Old Fashion (2001), Umah (1999). Willoughby (1998), Asian Incline (1993), Pago Escort (1992), Medicine Kid (1989), Finiston (1986), Coal Pak (1985) and Nitro Lad (1982).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Marocchino Alsephina Last Of The Line
2022 Treasured Star Startrade Trix Of The Trade
2021 Western Empire Notorious One Luke’s Gold
2020 Inspirational Girl Too Close the Sun Red Can Man
2019 Samizdat Regal Power Perfect Jewel
2018 Galaxy Star Action War God
2017 Pounamu Variation Whispering Brook
2016 Heart Starter Great Shot Respondent
2015 Real Love My Sister Lil Hazzabeel
2014 Balmont Girl Black Heart Bart Respondent
2013 Platinum Rocker Vermeer Rohan
2012 Westriver Kevydonn Maschino Kerrific
2011 Luckygray Mega Steel Tranquility
2010 Colour Correct God Has Spoken Inarticulate
2009 Kasabian Elliotto Grand Nirvana
2008 Gilded Venom Megatic Famous Roman
2007 El Presidente Tarzi Wire Detonator
2006 Idyllic Prince Kim Invader Ripped
2005 Wild Target Wire Detonator Changing Lanes
2004 Rock Of Cashel Dead Eye Dick Prince Of Vasac
2003 Track Jester Kame’s Hope Dead Eye Dick
2002 Suspicion Kensyl Bay Storm Shot
2001 Old Fashion Country Blazer Face Your Fears
2000 Fair Alert Great Beau Slideaway
1999 Umah Zedamoss Jacks Or Better
1998 Willoughby Tool Time Ned’s Brother
1997 Look Of Success Romario Willoughby
1996 Bold Extreme Bar Dreamer Cranky Tikit
1995 Lynsted Lad Cranky Tikit Uriah Heap
1994 Classy Dresser Sammy The Bull Ciderian
1993 Asian Incline Ciderian Corregidor
1992 Pago Escort Star Pet Jevaction
1991 Future Edition Pago Escort Medicine Kid
1990 Crimson Medal Ropak Barrosa Boy
1989 Medicine Kid Mister Till Send A Sign
1988 Ableson Sky Filou Hasty Snob