Ascot Handicap Race Information

The Ascot Handicap is a 1000 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in April. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 April 2024

Ascot Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Ascot Quality Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2023 Ascot Quality Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Ascot Quality Handicap Preview and results.

The race was held over 1400m up to 2006, 1300m in 2007 and 2008, 1200m from 2009 and in 2021 was reduced to 1000m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Je Suis Belle (2022)

Multiple winners: Consular (2005 & 2006);Prince Gauntlet (1969 & 1970)

Fastest time (1000m): Zaniah (2021) 0:58:13

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Ascot Handicap

Winners of past Ascot Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 The Big Goodbye All That Pizzazz Enterprise Pomme
2023 Prince Of Boom Rothfire Centrefire
2022 Je Suis Belle Shooting For Gold Zoustyle
2021 Zaniah Tycoon Ace Master Jamie
2020 In Good Time Bandipur Scallopini
2019 Mr Marbellouz Sony Legend No Annamossity
2018 In His Stride Hi I’m Back Tisani Tomso
2017 Sweet Serendipity Irish Constabulary Mr Favulous
2016 Hopfgarten Worthy Cause Jessy Belle
2015 Into The Red Dymonashee Delectation
2014 Excellantes Mr Favulous Steel Zip
2013 Doubtfilly Griffon Benny’s Buttons
2012 Adnocon The Sixties Bold Glance
2011 Essington Metallurgical Tierqualo
2010 Bold Glance Joint Chiefs Conquering Queen
2009 Battlefield Wasted Emotions Mitanni
2008 Cocktail Supreme Alverta Felixtrinidad
2007 Rasmussen Son Of Dane Rockford Bay
2006 Consular Mitanni Romare
2005 Consular Show Biz Kid Grandway Shogun
2004 Enthusiast Consular Tellem
2003 Osca Warrior Panorama Heights Polygram
2002 Kenconcarne Bails Federal Agent
2001 Banff Connection Port Call Mallet
2000 El Mirada Super Espion Cheiron
1999 Marduk My Duke Umpire
1998 Suitcase Lomas Forgotten Hero
1997 Niagara Corregidor Brettic
1996 Cohort All Our Mob Pride of Kazoo
1995 Elected Mighty Contente Monopolize