Adelaide Guineas Race Information

The Adelaide Guineas is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in May. It is held at Morphettville on South Australian Derby day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 May 2024

Adelaide Guineas Race History

See the 2024 Adelaide Guineas Preview and results.

See the 2023 Adelaide Guineas Preview and results.

See the 2022 Adelaide Guineas Preview and results.

The race was first held over 1600m at Victoria Park racecourse and was won by Exalt’s Pride trained by Horrie Hendry and ridden by Bill Sharp. He won by 5 lengths. In 1994 it was held over 1800m at Cheltenham when it was won by the Bart Cummings trained Tristalove ridden by Damien Oliver. In 1995 it returned to the 1600m distance at Victoria Park. From 2001 onwards it was moved to the current 1600m at Morphettville, apart from 2002 when it was held over 1460m at Cheltenham.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Party Princess (2023)

Fastest time (1600m): Blahnik (2006) 1:35:56

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Adelaide Guineas

Winners of past Adelaide Guineas include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Poifect Sassy Boom Seeking Stardom
2023 Party Princess Wine Barron Ballon D’or
2022 Illation Hopon Harry Residue
2021 Cherry Tortoni Casino Seventeen Spooning
2020 Game Keeper Hypercane Quantum Mechanic
2019 So We Are Lady Young East Indiaman
2018 Peaceful State Over Exposure Sircconi
2017 Vienna Miss Petition Chapel City
2016 Antelucan Whirlpool Lahqa
2015 Magic Boy Distant Rock Actuariat
2014 Alpha Beat Lady Lakshmi Tikitour
2013 General Peekay Goldbya Electric Fusion
2012 Riziz Kinselmac Manner The New Boy
2011 Booklet Ain’tnofallenstar Willow Creek
2010 Small Minds Storm Brewing Aloha
2009 Estee Hawks Bay Bondarchuk
2008 Tosstestaroan Moment In Time Zodiac Queen
2007 Tipungwuti Surfside Christmas Skiddaw Peak
2006 Blahnik Gallant Guru Marju Snip
2005 Rockford Bay Exalted Ego Time To Laugh
2004 Cahuita Isle Of Gibralter Accost
2003 Nancy Eleanor King’s Arch Lawson’s Storm
2002 Berezny Regal Kiss Ansami
2001 So Gorgeous Rally Danish Storm
2000 Shorblue Mowglii Smytzer’s Rivalry
1999 Nina Haraka Raja Jazz Rass Brightia
1998 Mustang Red Madonna The Hind
1997 Will Fly Spirit Of Hope Kipling
1996 Classic Allure Heart Of Diamonds Innocent Affair
1995 Torezal Asalant Tranquility
1994 Tristalove Sportsbeat Jonquest