Turnbull Stakes Race Information

The Turnbull Stakes is a 2000 metre race for Australia’s best middle distance horses. The race is held in October each year at Flemington during the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $750,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Turnbull Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Turnbull Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Turnbull Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Turnbull Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Turnbull Stakes Preview and results

The first Turnbull Stakes was run in 1948 and was named for Mr Richard Turnbull who was VRC Chairman at that time. Prior to that it was ran under several different names including October Stakes, September Stakes and Royal Park Stakes, with the first running in 1865 being won by The Sign. It has been a 2000m event since the 1972 running as a metric race.

The Turnbull has had several format changes throughout its history as it was a handicap event until 1963 and then a weight-for-age event from 1964-1970. Since then it has been a Set Weights and Penalties race.

It was a Group 2 race when it was won by the champion mare Makybe Diva in 2005, and has only been a Group 1 race from 2006. It carries prizemoney of $500,000 and attracts quality middle distance gallopers.

Chris Waller trained the trifecta in 2020.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Verry Elleegant (2020)

Multiple winners: Winx (2017 & 2018); Vo Rogue (1987 & 1988); Comic Court (1949 & 1950)

Fastest time (2000m): Elvstroem (2004) 2:00:40

Interesting trivia: In 1994 Redding beat Paris Lane on protest.

Previous winners of the Turnbull Stakes

Since 1948 only three horses have won the race more than once – Winx (2017/2018), Vo Rogue (1987/1988) and Comic Court (1949/1950). Notable winners of the race include Elvstroem (2004), Northerly (2002), Sunline (2000), Doriemus (1996), Naturalism (1992), Let’s Elope (1991), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1989), Dulcify (1979), Leilani (1974), Galilee (1968), Tobin Bronze (1966) and Rising Fast (1954).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Gold Trip West Wind Blows Soulcombe
2022 Smokin’ Romans Maximal Young Werther
2021 Incentivise Young Werther Chapada
2020 Verry Elleegant Toffee Tongue Finche
2019 Kings Will Dream Finche Hartnell
2018 Winx Youngstar Kings Will Dream (IRL)
2017 Winx Ventura Storm (IRE) Humidor (NZ)
2016 Hartnell Jameka Tally
2015 Preferment Royal Descent Set Square
2014 Lucia Valentina Lidari Brambles
2013 Happy Trails Puissance De Lune Fawkner
2012 Green Moon Seville December Draw
2011 December Draw Glass Harmonium Playing God
2010 Zipping Shocking Shoot Out
2009 Efficient Predatory Pricer Scenic Shot
2008 Littorio Master O’Reilly Zipping
2007 Devil Moon Scenic Shot Haradasun
2006 Sphenophyta Our Smoking Joe Aqua D Amore
2005 Makybe Diva Lad Of The Manor Confectioner
2004 Elvstroem Mummify Confectioner
2003 Studebaker Pentastic Strasbourg
2002 Northerly Dash For Cash Fields Of Omagh
2001 Sunline Universal Prince Primrose Sands
2000 Fairway Sunline Diatribe
1999 Sky Heights Ruy Lopez Inaflury
1998 Aerosmith Gold Guru Our Unicorn
1997 Marble Halls Always Aloof Seascay
1996 Doriemus Beaux Art Cheviot
1995 All Our Mob Doriemus Sir Kingi
1994 Redding Paris Lane Tristalove
1993 The Phantom Chance Naturalism Kiwi Golfer
1992 Naturalism London Bridge Mr Eurostar
1991 Let’s Elope Prince Salieri Renteeno
1990 Better Loosen Up Royal Creation Shuzohra
1989 Super Impose Research Sydeston
1988 Vo Rogue Apollo Run Ebeli Show
1987 Vo Rogue Fair Sir King Of Brooklyn
1986 Just Now Pharostan Cimarra
1985 Lacka Reason Our Sophia Glen Moriston
1984 Al Dwain Alibhai Beechcraft
1983 Chez Nous La Cocotte Malvita
1982 Birchwood Fearless Pride Prince Majestic
1981 No Peer Deck The Halls Saxon Slew
1980 Amarla Polo Player My Brown Jug
1979 Dulcify Karaman Kankama
1978 Lefroy So Called Paignton
1977 Salamander Unaware Major Till
1976 Denise’s Joy Balmerino Better Draw
1975 Analight Vicki’s Son Taras Bulba
1974 Leilani Herminia Isomonia
1973 Australasia Dyana Gala Supreme
1972 Sharif Gossiper Haarle
1971 Igloo Double Irish Jan’s Beau
1970 Arctic Symbol Crewman Cyron
1969 Fileur Rain Lover General Command
1968 Galilee Galena Palatial
1967 Star Belle Terrific Sunhaven
1966 Tobin Bronze Terrific Future
1965 Craftsman Light Fingers Royal Duty
1964 Sir Dane Royal Duty Havelock
1963 Sometime Prince Ming Tatua
1962 Aquanita Grand Print The Dip
1961 Blue Lodge Dhaulagiri Aquanita
1960 Aircraft Joss Sticks Nilarco
1959 Mac Dawdle Malarno
1958 Pandie Sun Pushover Highfire
1957 Syntax Sailor’s Guide Beaumine
1956 Pushover Ark Royal Lady Chloe
1955 Redcraze Rising Fast Ribera
1954 Rising Fast Cromis Surprise Ending
1953 Petrograd Quiet Talk Welloch
1952 Aldershot Bronton Morse Code
1951 Morse Code Jovial Lad Iron Duke
1950 Comic Court Iron Duke Spellman
1949 Comic Court Nilam Ninnid
1948 Beau Gem Lungi Anthelion

2018 Turnbull Stakes Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Winx will have nine competitors for the $500,000 TAB Turnbull Stakes and she is the oldest runner in the race. Winx is a very short odds-on price after her record-breaking run of 27 consecutive wins. She won this race by 6.5 lengths last year at her first Flemington start and it is almost impossible to see anything beating her this year after her magnificent four-length win in the George Main Stakes last start. Second favourite is Kings Will Dream who followed 3rd in the Memsie Stakes with 2nd in the Makybe Diva Stakes last outing. Third favourite is Grunt who had a strong win in the Makybe Diva then only struggled for 6th in the Underwood Stakes, and should improve on that here.

Youngstar is the other Waller runner and the only other mare in the race. She has won 4 of her 10 starts and was 3rd in the G2 Shannon Stakes last start. Jon Snow was 3rd in the Makybe Diva and goes better over this distance. Ventura Storm ran 2nd in this race last year. The other 4 runners are currently at 66 to 1 or longer and will not worry the champ.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
2 Winx
1 Grunt
4 Kings Will Dream
10 Youngstar