The Galaxy Race Information

The Galaxy is an 1100 metre handicap sprint race run by the Australian Turf Club at Rosehill. Previously held during April on Doncaster Handicap Day during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival it was moved to Rosehill Guineas day in 2013.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Open Handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

The Galaxy Race History

See the 2024 The Galaxy Preview and results.

See the 2023 The Galaxy Preview and results.

See the 2022 The Galaxy Preview and results.

See the 2021 The Galaxy Preview and results.

The Galaxy was first run in 1972 as a principal race over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) and was won by Playbill. From 1973 onwards the distance was converted to 1100 metres and in 1980 the race was given Group 2 status. A few years later, in 1984, it was made a Group 1 race.

It had always been run at Randwick apart from 2007 when it was run at Warwick Farm, but from 2013 it was moved to Rosehill.  Sydney horses tend to use the Group 2 Challenge Stakes over 1000 metres as the main lead-up race to The Galaxy. Melbourne horses often have their lead-up in the Newmarket Handicap over 1200 metres at Flemington. Winner of the 2023 Challenge Stakes is exempt from ballot.

The race always draws a competitive field of quality sprinters and only one horse has been good enough to win it twice. Grey Receiver won in 1981 and 1982 and contested the race again in 1983 but finished eighth on a heavy track. Three-year olds have an excellent record in this race and the speedster Luskin Star won The Galaxy as a three-year-old in 1978.

The winner of the 2023 Galaxy is exempt from ballot for the 2023 T J Smith Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Mariamia (2023)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Russian Revolution (2017); Filly – La Baraka (1998)

Multiple winners: Grey Receiver (1981 & 1982)

Fastest time (1100m): Sweet Idea (2015) 1:02:69

Interesting trivia: 1975 winner Bletchingly is the sire of 1991 winner Mr Tiz and grandsire of 1997 winner Accomplice.

Past winners of The Galaxy

Six three-year-olds won in the 1990’s with Schillaci (1992), Sublimate (1993), Jetball (1994), Gold Ace (1996), Accomplice (1997) and La Baraka (1998), while five three-year-olds won in the 2000’s with Mistegic (2002), Snowland (2003), Spark Of Life (2004), Charge Forward (2005) and Nicconi (2009).

The race is usually run at a fast pace and barriers can play an important role. Horses drawn out wide are disadvantaged because of the early speed in the race and an inside barrier is definitely an advantage in this race. In 2010 *Ortensia was first past the post but later disqualified

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Zapateo Sunshine In Paris Front Page
2023 Mariamia Uncommon James Cannonball
2022 Shelby Sixtysix Big Parade In The Congo
2021 Eduardo Order Of Command Jonker
2020 I Am Excited Miss Leonidas Tofane
2019 Nature Strip Pierata EasyEddie
2018 In Her Time English Viridine
2017 Russian Revolution Redzel Jungle Edge
2016 Griante Shiraz Dothraki
2015 Sweet Idea Kuro (NZ) Miracles Of Life
2014 Tiger Tees (NZ) Anatina Villa Verde
2013 Bel Sprinter Snitzerland Decision Time
2012 Temple Of Boom Nobby Snip Ladys Angel
2011 Atomic Force Thankgodyou’rehere Cardinal Virtue
2010 Shellscrape* Swift Alliance Stryker
2009 Nicconi Danleigh Gold Trail
2008 Typhoon Zed Keen Commander Fritzs Princess
2007 Magnus Fast’N’Famous Mac’s Tune
2006 Proprietor Media Black Ink
2005 Charge Forward Spark Of Life Red Oog
2004 Spark Of Life Taikun Blessum
2003 Snowland Star Of Florida Bradshaw
2002 Mistegic Century Kid (NZ) Excellerator
2001 Padstow Camena Catatonic
2000 Black Bean Commands Padstow

*Ortensia was first past the post but later disqualified

From the archives:

The Galaxy Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Slow   Weather: Overcast

Following the early scratchings of Pariah and Secret Agenda, emergency The Mission will get a run giving a field of 13 runners for the $700,000 The PFD Food Services Galaxy. They range in age from three-year-olds to seven-year-olds, and the betting is fairly open. The early favourite is In Her Time who has won 7 of her 17 starts and resumes here after winning a Beaumont trial by over 4 lengths. Second favourite is wet track specialist Jungle Edge who resumed for 2nd in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes, and who ran 3rd in this race last year. Third favourite is three-year-old Viridine who was slowly away and ran on strongly for 4th in the Challenge Stakes when resuming and has won both of his second-up starts.

Snitty Kitty loves this distance and is very speedy, coming off a close 2nd in the Oakleigh Plate. Supido has won 3 from 4 at this distance and was 1.1 lengths 5th in the Newmarket last start. English resumed for 5th in the G2 Challenge Stakes. Thronum ony battled for 12th in the Newmarket but is good on rain-affected ground. Le Romain resumes here and has never been unplaced first-up. All other runners are currently 25 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
2 Jungle Edge
10 Snitty Kitty
3 In Her Time
13 Viridine