Tattersall’s Tiara Race Information

The Tattersall’s Tiara is a 1400 metre weight-for-age event for fillies and mares held at Eagle Farm. It is run by the Brisbane Racing Club in June and is the final Group 1 race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: WFA, 3YO & upwards, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland (moved to Doomben for 2017 and 2018)
  • Prizemoney: $700,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 June 2023

Tattersall’s Tiara Race History

See the 2023 Tattersall’s Tiara Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tattersall’s Tiara Preview and results.

See the 2021 Tattersall’s Tiara Preview and results.

The Tattersall’s Tiara is a fairly new race as it was first held in 1989 when La Posette won over 1500 metres. It became a Listed Race in 1992, a Group 3 in 1996 then a Group 2 in 2006. The following year, 2007, it was given Group 1 status and the distance was reduced to 1400 metres. In 2017 and 2018 it was switched to 1350m at Doomben because of issues with the track surface at Eagle Farm.

Lead-up races are the Group 2 Dane Ripper Quality which is a fillies and mares event over 1400 metres, and the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap over 1400 metres. The only horse to take out the Dane Ripper – Tattersall’s Tiara double was Tripping who won as a three-year-old in 1996. The three-year-old Dane Ripper won both the Stradbroke and Winter Stakes in 1997 and then went on to win the 1997 Cox Plate.

The Tattersall’s Tiara is the final Group 1 event of the racing season in Australia and attracts a quality field of fillies and mares from both locally and interstate. Only one horse has won it more than once and that was Bonanova who won in 1999 and 2000 as a four-year-old and five-year-old. In 2015 it was held at Gold Coast racecourse.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win: Startantes (2022)

Multiple winners: Bonanova (1999 & 2000)

Fastest time (1400m): Cosmic Endeavour (2014) 1:22:03

Interesting trivia: Favourites are often beaten in this race.

Previous winners of the Tattersall’s Tiara

Only a few trainers have won the race more than once. Grahame Begg won with Bonanova in 1999 and 2000, Danny O’Brien won with Porto Roca in 2001 and Absolut Glam in 2008, and Bart Cummings won with Dane Ripper (1997) and Russeting in 2009. Russeting was the 253rd Group 1 winner for master trainer Bart Cummings.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Palaisipan Roots Chaillot
2022 Startantes Snapdancer Palaisipan
2021 Tofane Nudge Sweet Deal
2020 ** Race not run **
2019 Invincibella Pohutukawa Savatiano
2018 Prompt Response Shillelagh Super Cash
2017 Tycoon Tara Prompt Response In Her Time
2016 Miss Cover  Girl Azkadellia Sultry Feeling
2015 Srikandi Avoid Lightning  Lumosty
2014 Cosmic Endeavour Angel Of Mercy Avoid Lightning
2013 Red Tracer Streama Floria
2012 Pear Tart Skyerush Gai’s Choice
2011 Yosei Beaded Born To Rock
2010 Melito Wealth Princess Beaded
2009 Russeting Prima Nova Subtle Cove
2008 Absolut Glam Fritz’s Princess Alverta
2007 Nova Star Fashions Afield J’adane (NZ)
2006 La Sizeranne (NZ) Gee I Jane (NZ) Villa Bled
2005 Charmview Tui Song (NZ) Yvonne
2004 Miss Potential Paraca (ARG) Rodrigo Rose (NZ)
2003 Mon Mekki With My Recurring (NZ)
2002 Heptonstall Princess Clang Omens
2001 Porto Roca Dynamic Love Heather
2000 Bonanova (NZ) Crestfallen Stella Maree

From the archives:

Tattersall’s Tiara Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There is a full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for the $500,000 2018 Sky Racing Tattersall’s Club Tiara. The betting is very open and the early favourite is filly Champagne Cuddles who finished 3rd in the Stradbroke last start. Second favourite is Prompt Response who was 2nd in this race last year and was run down late for 2nd in the Dane Ripper last outing. Third favourite is Savanna Amour who won the Hinkler Handicap over 1200m on a heavy track last start and has won 7 of her 16 starts.

Super Cash ran 2nd in the Stradbroke where the rider lost her whip. Moss Trip won 2 races in a row before 3rd in the Dane Ripper. Pedrena was 8th in the Dane Ripper. Shillelagh and Invincible Gem were 6th and 9th respectively in the Stradbroke. Daysee Doom has great form at his distance but has drawn barrier 20. Invincibella looked good winning the Dane Ripper. All other runners are currently at 16 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
4 Prompt Response
10 Savanna Amour
15 Champagne Cuddles
1 Invincibella