Spear Chief Handicap Race Information

The Spear Chief Handicap is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in late May or early June. It is run at Eagle Farm as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 June 2023

Spear Chief Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Spear Chief Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Spear Chief Handicap Preview and results.

Coming soon, Previously called the Sir Edward Williams Handicap

Spear Chief Handicap Facts

Last mare to win: Charleise (2021)

Last 3YO to win:

Multiple winners:  none

Fastest time (1500m): 1: 27.5 (Lord Denning 2002)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Spear Chief Handicap

Winners of past Spear Chief Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Munhamek Charmmebaby Brigantine
2022 Vinco Charmmebaby Never No More
2021 Charleise Groundswell Luvoir
2020 Inquiry Scallopini Right Or Wrong
2019 Redouble Natch Mr Marbellouz
2018 Snippets Land I’m A Rippa Spectroscope
2017 Payroll Maryore Double Impact
2016 Tales Of Grimm Amovatio Aldini
2015 Frespanol Tornado Miss Darci Be Good
2014 Aldini Elmantosh Choice Bro
2013 Fire Up Fifi Tokamak Meet George
2012 Pepperwood Dusty Star St Germaine
2011 Mystical Grey Silent Movie Tampiko
2010 Pennacchio La Etoile Rockdale
2009 Soiled Obvious Choice Lucky Luna
2008 Litter Ready When You Are Mr Baritone
2007 Diamondsondinside Hurrah Atapi
2006 Magic Marvo Benedetti Spirit Of Tara
2005 Enthusiast Doonan Star Of St Covet
2004 Western Brace Celtic Trial Rodrigo Rose
2003 Warrior Trader Deuxieme Osca Warrior
2002 Lord Denning Adamantly Federal Agent
2001 Perfect Paradise Dashing Image West Express
2000 Brighter Scene Sirec Kilamanjaro