Rosehill Guineas

The Rosehill Guineas is a 2,000 metre race for three-year-olds at set weights. It is run by the Australian Turf Club and held at Rosehill during late March.

  • Race Type: Group 1, 3YO Set Weights
  • Distance: 2,000 metres
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Date: Saturday 21 March 2015

The Rosehill Guineas was first run in 1910 over 7 furlongs (about 1400 metres) and was won by Electric Wire. The distance rose to nine furlongs in 1915 then increased to a testing 10 furlongs in 1948. It converted to 2000 metres in 1973 and was given Group 1 status in 1980 when it was won by Kingston Town.

In past years the major lead-up race was the Canterbury Guineas over 1900m but in 2006 that race was replaced by the Randwick Guineas over 1600 metres. Good horses then go on to the AJC Australian Derby. These three races are the three-year-old Triple Crown in Sydney. Prior to the Triple Crown win by It’s A Dundeel in 2013, only Metal Bender had won both the Randwick Guineas and Rosehill Guineas from 2006, and Octagonal was the previous last horse to win the Triple Crown in 1996.

Rosehill Guineas Final Field & Odds 2014

See below for early markets for this years Rosehill Guineas.

‘Odds not currently available’

Rosehill Guineas Preview & Tips 2014

Track: Slow    Weather: Overcast

There are 17 runners for the $500,000 Rosehill Guineas. The early favourite is New Zealand colt Puccini who has won 3 races in a row in NZ, culminating in the Group 1 New Zealand Derby. Second favourite is Dissident who has shown himself to be a dogged fighter with his wins in the Hobartville and the Randwick Guineas at his last 2 starts. Third favourite is 2013 Cox Plate winner Shamus Award who will go well.

Teronado ran home well in the Randwick Guineas and will appreciate the extra ground. Savvy Nature is 3rd up from a spell. Atlante races as though this distance will suit, and Thunder Fantasy only beat one home in the Australian Cup but had a wounded heel. Criterion came 2nd in the Australian Guineas and could surprise. All other runners are currently 20 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
4 Puccini  9 Teronado  4 Puccini
2 Dissident  4 Puccini  1 Shamus Award
1 Shamus Award  2 Dissident  9 Teronado
9 Teronado  1 Shamus Award  7 Atlante

Past winners of the Rosehill Guineas:

It takes a top class three-year-old to win this race and past winners include great names like Phar Lap, Ajax, Tulloch, Dulcify, Strawberry Road, Naturalism, Tie The Knot and Sky Heights. In over a hundred years of racing less than 10 fillies have managed to win this tough race with the most recent being Riverina Charm in 1989.

Many Rosehill Guineas winners go on to win the AJC Derby and a few have gone on to be successful in the BMW, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate. Eskimo Prince (1964) is the only Golden Slipper winner to win the Rosehill Guineas and Phar Lap is the only winner to win a Melbourne Cup with a Guineas win in 1929 and the Cup in 1930.

Year Winner Second Third
2014 Criterion (NZ) Thunder Fantasy Teronado
2013 It’s A Dundeel (NZ) Sacred Falls (NZ) Tatra
2012 Laser Hawk Ocean Park (NZ) Silent Achiever (NZ)
2011 Jimmy Choux (NZ) Retrieve Shamrocker
2010 Zabrasive (NZ) Rock Classic Run For Naara
2009 Metal Bender (NZ) Sousa (NZ) Rock Kingdom
2008 Dealer Principal Kingda Ka Littorio
2007 He’s No Pie Eater Ambitious General Fiumicino (NZ)
2006 De Beers (NZ) Oh Oklahoma Primus
2005 Eremein Nevis (NZ) Outback Prince
2004 Niello Grand Zulu Elvstroem
2003 Helenus Mummify Sunday Joy
2002 Carnegie Express Don Eduardo (NZ) Pentastic
2001 Sale Of Century Danamite (NZ) Scenic Warrior
2000 Diatribe Freemason Crawl