Randwick Guineas

The Randwick Guineas is a 1600 metre race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Jockey Club. It is run under set weight conditions and is held at Randwick in March during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1, 3YO Set Weights
  • Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Date: Saturday 7 March 2015

The Randwick Guineas has only existed in its current form since 2006 when it changed its name, distance and venue, but can be traced back to 1935 when it was won by Hadrian over a distance of 9 furlongs (about 1800 metres). Before 2006 it was held at Canterbury Racecourse and was known as the Canterbury Guineas. In 2011 it was held at Warwick Farm Racecourse due to a music concert. In 2013 it is being held at Warwick Farm as improvements are made at Randwick.

Randwick Guineas Final Field & Odds 2014

See below for early markets for this years Randwick Guineas.
‘Odds not currently available’

Randwick Guineas Preview & Tips 2014

Track: Dead    Weather: Fine

There are 15 acceptances for the $600,000 Royal Randwick Guineas. The early market has El Roca as favourite despite him drawing out wide in barrier 14. Second favourite is New Zealander Atlante who made a good impression with 2nd in the Hobartville at his Australian debut after winning 3 races at the end of his last campaign. Third in the market is Hobartville Stakes winner Dissident who has also drawn wide in barrier 13.

Eurozone ran 4th in the Australian Guineas last start but was found to be mildly lame and can improve. Bull Point won brilliantly first-up then wasn’t disgraced when 4th in the Orr against the older horses. Savvy Nature was 3rd in the Hobartville and will enjoy the extra distance. Criterion wound up strongly for 2nd in the Australian Guineas and is capable of putting in a big run here. Woodbine has 3 wins from 5 starts and has talent. Romantic Touch won over 1600m at Group 1 level during the Brisbane winter carnival. All other runners are 20 to 1 or longer. There are no fillies in the race again this year.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
5 Eurozone  2 El Roca  4 Atlante
2 El Roca  12 Teronado  3 Criterion
1 Dissident  6 Savvy Nature  2 El Roca
3 Criterion  4 Atlante  1 Dissident

Past winners of the Randwick Guineas:


Year Winner Second Third
2014 Dissident El Roca Eurozone
2013 It’s A Dundeel Proisir Tatra
2012 Mosheen Said Com Laser Hawk
2011 Ilovethiscity Skilled Light Brigade
2010 Shoot Out Viking Legend Captain Sonador
2009 Metal Bender (NZ) Rock Kingdom Caymans
2008 Weekend Hussler Triple Honour (NZ) Arlington
2007 Mentality Teranaba Sniper’s Bullet
2006 Hotel Grand Flying Pegasus Primus
2005 Jymcarew Eremein Cheval de Troy (NZ)
2004 Niello Timbourina Dancing Daggers (NZ)
2003 Fine Society Beaver Hydrometer
2002 Carnegie Express Pentastic Another Warrior
2001 Universal Prince Danamite (NZ) Scenic Warrior
2000 Fairway Oval Office (NZ) Cloth Of Gold

When Mosheen won in 2012 she was the only filly in the race.

During it time at Canterbury, the Randwick Guineas was run over 9 furlongs from 1935 to 1972 apart from 1957 when it was won by Todman over 10 furlongs (about 2000 metres). From 1973 to 1975 it was held over 1850 metres and from 1976 to 2005 it was held over 1900 metres. Until 1979 it was held in the spring and was then moved permanently to the autumn. Under set weights colts and geldings carry 56.5kg and fillies carry 54.5kg.

The race is the first leg of the three-year-old Triple Crown in Sydney, with the other legs being the Rosehill Guineas over 2000 metres and the AJC Derby over 2400 metres. The last horse to win all 3 legs was Octagonal in 1996. The winner of the Randwick Guineas is exempt from ballot for both the AJC Derby and the Doncaster Handicap.

The Group 2 Hobartville Stakes over 1400 metres is often used as a lead-up to the Randwick Guineas and so are the Chipping Norton and Gosford Quality Guineas. Horses may go on to compete in the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes over 1500 metres and the Rosehill Guineas. Since the race changed to 1600 metres it has also become a crucial lead-up to races like the George Ryder Stakes and the Doncaster Handicap.