Railway Stakes Race Information

The Railway Stakes is a 1600 metre race for three-year-olds and upwards run under open handicap conditions. It is held by the Western Australia Turf Club at Ascot in November during the Perth summer racing carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 25 November 2023

Railway Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Railway Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Railway Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Railway Stakes Preview and results

The Railway Stakes has a long history and was first run as a principal race over 12 furlongs (about 2400 metres) in 1887 when it was won by Nimrod.  Its name comes from the opening of the Fremantle to Midland rail line. Like many of the older races it has had several changes in distance. From 1972 to 1981 it was run over 1500 metres and since 1984 it has been run over 1600 metres.

As the Melbourne Spring Carnival has finished good milers may travel to Perth for the big prizemoney on offer in the Railway Stakes. Local horses have a good record in the race possibly because they are more accustomed to the extreme heat conditions in Perth and horses from the eastern states can have difficulty coping with the high temperatures. In past years the race was often held in late December.

Major lead-up races to the Railway Stakes are the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes over 1400 metres, the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes over 1400 metres and the Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes over 1500 metres. After the Railway Stakes horses may go on to run in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic over 1800 metres in two weeks time.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Inspirational Girl (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Marjoleo (1977); Filly – Jungle Dawn (1987)

Multiple winners: Luckygray (2011 & 2013); Tudor Mak (1966 & 1967)

Fastest time (1600m): Marwong (1988) 1:33:7

Railway Stakes & Kingston Town Classic: Sniper’s Bullet (2009), Modem (2004), Old Comrade (2001),  Better Loosen Up (1989).

Interesting trivia: 1968 winner La Trice was also first past the post in 1970 but lost on protest to Kirickle.

Past winners of the Railway Stakes

It is a tough race to win twice although Luckygray won in 2011 and 2013, and Tudor Mak did it in 1966 and 1967. Often a horse who has placed will win the following year. Examples include Snipers Bullet who was second in 2008 then won in 2009, Hardrada was second in 2002 then won in 2003 and Old Comrade was second in 2000 and won in 2001. Better Loosen Up won in 1989 and went on to win the Cox Plate in 1990. Northerly won in 2000 and won the Cox Plate in 2001 and 2002 and the Caulfield Cup in 2002.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Bustler Alsephina Dom To Shoot
2022 Trix Of The Trade Comfort Me Startrade
2021 Western Empire Comfort Me Kissonallforcheeks
2020 Inspirational Girl Too Close The Sun Uni Time
2019 Regal Power Best Of Days Platoon
2018 Galaxy Star Gatting Material Man
2017 Great Shot Black Heart Bart Tom Melbourne
2016 Scales Of Justice Good Project Perfect Reflection
2015 Good Project Messene Balmont Girl
2014 Elite Belle Balmont Girl Moriarty (IRE)
2013 Luckygray Platinum Rocker Fire Up Fifi
2012 Mr Moet Luckygray Rosie Rocket
2011 Luckygray He’s Remarkable Westriver Kevydonn
2010 Gathering Famous Roman Megatic
2009 Sniper’s Bullet Tarzi Colour Correct
2008 Gilded Venom Sniper’s Bullet Annenkov (IRE)
2007 El Presedente Hartley’s Dream Mansion House
2006 Belle Bizarre Confectioner Niconero
2005 Covertly Early Express Blinded
2004 Modem Mr Sandgroper Blinded
2003 Hardrada Early Express Mapperholic
2002 Old Fashion Hardrada Corporate Bruce
2001 Old Comrade Mr Tanzania Finito
2000 Northerly Old Comrade Lizzy Long Legs

From the archives:

2018 Railway Stakes Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There is a field of 15 runners for the $1,000,000 2018 Kirin Railway Stakes. Six of them had their last start in the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes, three in the G1 Kennedy Mile, two in the G3 Asian Beau Stakes and two in the G3 RJ Peters Stakes. The early favourite is Galaxy Star who has won 9 of her 12 races and came 2nd at the other 3. Her last run was a 2.5 length win in the G3 Asian Beau Stakes. Second favourite is Peaceful State who ran 3rd in the Kennedy Mile last stat and is one of two runners for Darren Weir. Third favourite is Iconoclasm who is the other Weir runner and was 8th in the Kennedy Mile following 2 good wins in Melbourne.

Gatting resumed with a good win in the Lee Steere Stakes. Material Man resumes here and has a great first-up record and has won 2 trials recently. Prized Icon was 4th in the G1 Mackinnon Stakes last start, Man Booker was 4th in the Lee Steere Stakes and Action was 5th in the RJ Peters Stakes. All other runners are currently 16 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
11 Galaxy Star
4 Gatting
7 Peaceful State
1 Material Man