Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a 1200 metre weight-for-age race held by the Moonee Valley Racing Club. It is run at Moonee Valley in September and is part of the Breeder’s Cup Challenge.

  • Race Type: Group 1, Open WFA
  • Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Date: Friday, 24 October 2014, night meeting

The Manikato Stakes was first run in 1968 as the Freeway Stakes over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) and was won by Winfreux. In 1979 it became a Group 2 race and in 1984 the name was changed to the Manikato Stakes. It became a Group 1 race in 1989 and is one of the most important races on the Moonee Valley racing calendar. In recent years it has been run as a night meeting, and in 2012 was moved from late Septmber to the eve of the Cox Plate.

In 2009 the Manikato Stakes became a qualifying race for the American Breeders Cup meeting in November. This means the winner earns an automatic start in the US$1 million Breeders Cup Sprint at Santa Anita racecourse in California, giving trainers and owners a chance to match their horses against international competition.

2014 Manikato Stakes Final Field & Odds:

Check below for all the latest Manikato Stakes odds plus final field.

‘Odds not currently available’

2014 Manikato Stakes Preview & Tips:

Track: Dead   Weather: Fine

Twelve horses will line up for the $1,000,000 Sportingbet Manikato Stakes. The early market has two horses sharing favouritism – Sydney horse Terravista who has 8 wins from 11 starts, and Australian Horse of the Year Lankan Rupee with 9 wins from 18 starts. Terravista has won his last two, including the Shorts, while Lankan Rupee has come a close 2nd at his last 2 starts, both at Moonee Valley. Third favourite is Buffering who won this race last year and came 6th in 2012. He won the Moir Stakes last start, ahead of Lankan Rupee.

Rebel Dane was 3rd in the Moir and has being going well over this distance. Angelic Light was 4th in the Moir after she won the G2 McEwen at this track the start before. Platelet was 2nd in the G2 Schillaci when resuming and goes well second-up. Moment Of Change mixes his form and was 2nd in a Listed race at Caulfield then ran last in the Memsie. The other 5 runners are currently all at odds of 20 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
 7 Terravista  2 Lankan Rupee  5 Rebel Dane
 1 Buffering  1 Buffering  7 Terravista
 2 Lankan Rupee  7 Terravista  2 Lankan Rupee
 5 Rebel Dane  6 Famous Seamus  1 Buffering

Previous winners of the Manikato Stakes:

Champion racehorse Manikato won this race twice in 1979 and 1982. The race was named after him when he died in 1984. He was buried at Moonee Valley racecourse close to the winning post where he achieved so many victories including five consecutive William Reid Stakes. It is fitting that the race named in his honour attracts Australia’s finest sprinters.

Other notable winners of the Manikato Stakes include Danleigh (2009), Miss Andretti (2006), Sunline (2000), Redoubte’s Choice (1999), Dane Ripper (1998), Rancho Ruler (1988), Rubiton (1987), Strawberry Road (1983), Manikato (1979 and 1982), Century (1972), Dual Choice (1970 and 1971) and Vain (1969).

Year Winner Second Third
2014 Lankan Rupee Angelic Light Famous Seamus
2013 Buffering Lucky Nine Sessions
2012 Sea Siren Mental We’re Gonna Rock
2011 Sepoy Sister Madly More Joyous
2010 Hay List True Persuasion Eagle Falls
2009 Danleigh Phelan Ready Nicconi
2008 Typhoon Zed Absolut Glam Kaphero
2007 Gold Edition Vormista Dr Nipandtuck
2006 Miss Andretti Dance Hero Sassbee
2005 Spark Of Life Perfectly Ready Our Egyptian Raine (NZ)
2004 Spark Of Life Yell Dilly Dally
2003 Spinning Hill True Glo The Big Chill (NZ)
2002 Spinning Hill Bel Esprit Mistegic
2001 Piavonic Sunline (NZ) Falvelon
2000 Sunline (NZ) Honour The Name Miss Pennymoney