Northerly Stakes Race Information

The Northerly Stakes is an 1800 metre race for horses three-years-old and upwards run under weight-for-age conditions. It is held by the Western Australia Turf Club at Ascot in December.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 December 2023

Northerly Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Northerly Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Northerly Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Kingston Town Classic Preview and Results.

See the 2020 Kingston Town Classic Preview and Results.

The Northerly Stakes was previously known as the Kingston Town Classic. It was first held as the WATC Marlboro 50,000 over 1800 metres in 1976 when it was won by Family Of Man. Family Of Man also won the race in 1978. The race has remained at the same distance apart from 1999 to 2000 when it was run over 1600 metres and in 2003 it was held at Belmont and run over 2000 metres.

This race had had many name changes in a relatively short history. From 1976 to 1979 it was the Marlboro 50,000, from 1980 to 1983 it was the Western Mail Classic, from 1984 to 1987 it was the Rothwells Stakes, from 1988 to 1991 it was the Winfield Stakes, from 1992 to 1994 it was the Beat Diabetes 2 Stakes, from 1995 to 12000 it was the Fruit’n’Veg Stakes and from 2007 to 2021 it has been the Kingston Town Classic. In 2022 the name changed again to the Northerly Stakes.

Kingston Town won this race in 1982 and it was named in his honour until the name change for 2022. Lead-up races are the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes over 1400 metres and the Group 1 Railway Stakes over 1600 metres. Horses that can handle the distance then often go on to run in the Group 2 CB Cox Stakes over 2400 metres.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO to win: C&G = Ihtsahymn (2013); Filly – Amelia’s Jewel (2022)

Multiple winners: Playing God (2010 & 2011); Niconero (2006 & 2008); Old Comrade (2000 & 2001); Summer Beau (1996 & 1997); Family Of Man (1976 & 1978).

Fastest time (1800m): Sniper’s Bullet (2009) 1:46:9

Interesting trivia: In 1996 the mares Alcove and Circles Of Gold dead-heated for 2nd behind Summer Beau.

Past winners of the Northerly Stakes/Kingston Town Classic

Some horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion. Playing God won in 2010 and 2011, Niconero won in 2006 and 2008, Old Comrade won in 2000 and 2001, Summer Beau won in 1996 and 1997 and Family Of Man won in 1976 and 1978. In 1978 Mighty Kingdom won the Caulfield Cup and the Kingston Town Classic, and in 1982 Kingston Town won the Cox Plate and the Kingston Town Classic.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Dom To Shoot Zaaki Zipaway
2022 Amelia’s Jewel Ironclad Steinem
2021 Regal Power Western Empire Kissonallforcheeks
2020 Truly Great Inspirational Girl Dom To Shoot
2019 Kay Cee Gailo Chop Best Of Days
2018 Arcadia Queen Material Man Galaxy Star
2017 Pounamu Material Man Achernar Star
2016 Stratum Star Scales Of Justice Perfect Reflection
2015 Perfect Reflection Delicacy Dark Musket
2014 Moriarty Disposition Elite Belle
2013 Ihtsahymn Luckygray Rohan
2012 Luckygray Mr Moet God Has Spoken
2011 Playing God Ranger King Saul
2010 Playing God Impressive Jeuney Trusting
2009 Sniper’s Bullet God Has Spoken Scenic Shot
2008 Niconero Gilded Venom Sniper’s Bullet
2007 Megatic Guyno (NZ) New Spice
2006 Niconero Scenic Shot Daka’s Gem
2005 Early Express Lock The Vault Bon Argent
2004 Modem Free At Last (NZ) True Steel
2003 True Steel Milanova Hardrada
2002 Blevvo Finito Corporate Bruce
2001 Old Comrade Miss Precisely Shot Of Thunder
2000 Old Comrade Umrum Slideaway

From the archives:

2018 Kingstown Town Classic Preview & Tips:

Track: Good  Weather: Fine

Following the early scratching of Elegant Blast, there will be 14 runners in the $1,000,000 Magic Millions Kingston Town Classic. The early favourite is WA Guineas winner Arcadia Queen who has won 4 of her 5 starts, will be ridden by William Pike and only has 50kg to carry. Second favourite is Galaxy Star who has 10 wins and 3 places from 13 starts and won the Railway Stakes a fortnight ago in a faster time than the WA Guineas. Third favourite is Trap For Fools who performed well at the Melbourne Spring Carnival culminating in a tough win in the Mackinnon Stakes.

Material Man was 2nd in this race last year and resumed for 3rd in the Railway Stakes and meets the winner better at the weights. Gatting was 2nd in the Railway Stakes after resuming for a win in the Lee Steere Stakes, and pulled up lame so should go well again. Holy Snow was 2nd in the Sandown Stakes last start and should run the distance. Perfect Jewel didn’t get the clearest of runs when 4th in the Railway. All other runners are currently at 20 to 1 or longer, including Achernar Star who ran 3rd in this race last year.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
12 Galaxy Star
15 Arcadia Queen
1 Trap For Fools
4 Gatting