King George VI Chase Race Information

The King George VI Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt chase over 3 miles, with horses jumping 18 fences. It is held at Kempton Park on Boxing Day (26 December) as part of the Winter Festival.

  • Race Type: Grade 1
  • Distance: 3 miles (4828 metres)
  • Conditions: Steeplechase, set weights, 4YO and up
  • Track: Kempton Park Racecourse, Sunbury, England
  • Prizemoney: £250,000
  • Date: Tuesday, 26 December 2023

King George VI Chase Race History

The King George VI Chase was first run in 1937 during the first year of the reign of King George VI. There were only 4 runners and it was won by twelve-year-old Southern Hero. After the first two runnings, the course was closed from 1939-1946 as Kempton Park was used for World War II prisoners of war. The race resumed in 1947.

It is regarded as the second most prestigious chase in England behind the Gold Cup. In some years it has been cancelled because of bad weather such as snow and heavy frosts, or postponed until early January because of the weather. The 2010 running was actually on 15 January 2011 because of snow and frost. For many, the race is the highlight of the Christmas season and has attracted some of the most popular and highly regarded chasers in Europe.

When Frodon won in 2020 it was the 12th victory for trainer Paul Nicholls. Just like Bart Cummings made the Melbourne Cup his own, Paul Nicholls has done the same with this three-mile steeplechase.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win:

Multiple winners:

Fastest time (m):

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the King George VI Chase

Fourteen horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion. Desert Orchid won it 4 times and Kauto Star won it 5 times. The oldest winner was the winner of the inaugural race Southern Hero who was 12. Kauto Star was 11 when he won for the 5th time in 2011. He had won in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 then ran 2nd to the younger Long Run in 2010.  Ruby Walsh is the leading jockey as he has 5 wins in the race – all on Kauto Star. Paul Nicholls is the leading trainer with 10 winners – Clan Des Obeaux, Silviniaco Conti (twice), Kauto Star (5 times ) and See More Business who won in 1997 and 1999. Most winners have been aged 7, 8 or 9. No four-year-old has won and the only five-year-old was Manicou in 1950.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Hewick Bravemansgame Allaho
2022 Bravemansgame Royale Pagaille Frodon
2021 Tornado Flyer Clan Des Obeaux Saint Calvados
2020 Frodon Waiting Patiently Clan Des Obeaux
2019 Clan Des Obeaux Cyrname Footpad
2018 Clan Des Obeaux Thistlecrack Native River
2017 Might Bite Double Shuffle Tea For Two
2016 Thistlecrack Cue Card Silviniaco Conti
2015 Cue Card Vautour Al Ferof
2014 Silviniaco Conti Dynaste Al Ferof
2013 Silviniaco Conti Cue Card Al Ferof
2012 Long Run (FR) Captain Chris (IRE) Grands Crus (FR)
2011 Kauto Star (FR) Long Run (FR) Captain Chris (IRE)
2010 Long Run (FR) Riverside Theatre Kauto Star (FR)
2009 Kauto Star (FR) Madison Du Berlais Barbers Shop
2008 Kauto Star (FR) Albertas Run (IRE) Voy Por Ustedes (FR)
2007 Kauto Star (FR) Our Vic (IRE) Exotic Dancer (FR)
2006 Kauto Star (FR) Exotic Dancer (FR) Racing Demon (FR)
2005 Kicking King (IRE) Monkerhostin (FR) Impek (FR)
2004 Kicking King (IRE) Kingscliff (IRE) Azertyuiop (FR)
2003 Edredon Blue (FR) Tiutchev First Gold (FR)
2002 Best Mate (IRE) Marlborough (IRE) Bacchanal (IRE)
2001 Florida Pearl (IRE) Best Mate (IRE) Bacchanal (IRE)
2000 First Gold (FR) Florida Pearl (IRE) Bellator