George Ryder Stakes Race Information

The George Ryder Stakes is a 1500 metre weight-for-age race run by the Australian Turf Club. It is held at Rosehill in late March on Rosehill Guineas Day during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Standard WFA, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

George Ryder Stakes Race History

See the 2024 George Ryder Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 George Ryder Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 George Ryder Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 George Ryder Stakes Preview and results.

The George Ryder Stakes has had several name and distance changes over the years and was originally held in 1903 as the Railway Stakes over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) when it was won by the gelding Cressy. Over the years it has been known as the Railway Stakes, Railway Handicap, Elizabeth Farm Handicap, Railway Quality Handicap, CP Air Quality Handicap and Darley Stakes. Prior to 2014 it was held on Golden Slipper Day.

It was first run as the George Ryder Stakes in 1973 and was won by All Shot over the 1400 metre distance. George Edward Ryder was a founding member of the Sydney Turf Club who late became Chairman of the club. It has been a Group 1 race since 1980 and was ran at 1400 metres until 1984, at 1450 metres in 1985 and 1500 metres from 1986 onwards.

Horses often have their lead-up in races like the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes over 1600 metres or the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap over 1400 metres. Three-year-olds may arrive via the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes over 1500 metres or the Group 1 Randwick Guineas. The winner of the George Ryder Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Doncaster Handicap and several horses have won both races including Vision And Power (2009), Haradasun (2007) and Racing To Win (2006).

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Forbidden Love (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Pierro (2013); Filly – Heat Of The Moment (1986)

Multiple winners: Winx (2016, 2017, 2018 & 2019); Lonhro (2003 & 2004); Campaign King (1987 & 1988); Emancipation (1983 & 1984); Manikato (1979 & 1980); Foresight (1968 & 1969); Time And Tide (1964 & 1967); Prince Regoli (1962 & 1963).

Fastest time (1500m): Lonhro (2004) 1:27:2

Interesting trivia: In 1996 three-year-olds ran the trifecta with Ravarda ahead of Encores and Flying Spur.

Past winners of the George Ryder Stakes

In recent years three-year-olds have done well in the George Ryder including Pierro (2013), Weekend Hussler (2008), Haradasun (2007) and Racing To Win (2006). Very few fillies and mares have won in the long history of the race with the grey Emancipation the only female to win twice (1983 and 1984)  before Winx joined then beat her (2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019). Heat Of the Moment won in 1986 as a three-year-old filly.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Veight Lady Laguna Militarize
2023 Anamoe Fangirl Converge
2022 Forbidden Love Colette Law Of Indices
2021 Think It Over Dreamforce Avilius
2020 Dreamforce The Bostonian Te Akau Shark
2019 Winx Brutan Dreamforce
2018 Winx Happy Clapper Kementari
2017 Winx Le Romain Chautauqua
2016 Winx Kermadec Press Statement
2015 Real Impact Criterion Kermadec
2014 Gordon Lord Byron Speediness El Roca
2013 Pierro King Mufhasa Shoot Out
2012 Metal Bender Rekindled Interest Secret Admirer
2011 Rangirangdoo Love Conquers All Triple Elegance
2010 Danleigh Dao Dao King Mufhasa (NZ)
2009 Vision And Power Black Piranha King Mufhasa (NZ)
2008 Weekend Hussler Racing To Win Casino Prince
2007 Haradasun Mentality Apache Cat
2006 Racing To Win Paratroopers Lad Of The Manor (NZ)
2005 Court’s In Session Patezza Sky Cuddle
2004 Lonhro Grand Armee Private Steer
2003 Lonhro Dash For Cash Defier
2002 Lord Essex Shogun Lodge Crawl
2001 Landsighting Shogun Lodge Crawl
2000 Al Mansour Bonanova (NZ) Hire
Bet Now

From the archives:

George Ryder Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Slow   Weather: Showers

There are only six runners for the $1,000,000 George Ryder Stakes as Winx has won this race for the past two years and has frightened the opposition off. For the third year in a row, the odds-on favourite is Winx who comes off an easy win in the Chipping Norton Stakes – this time by 7 lengths. She has showed she can handle all types of going, and should win her third George Ryder. Second favourite is three-year-old Kementari who won the Randwick Guineas by 1.5 lengths last outing and won his previus two. Third favourite is Happy Clapper who resumed with a strong win in the Canterbury Stakes and holds his form second-up.

Invincible Gem had problems when resuming for 3rd in the Canterbury Stakes and was sore. Crack Me Up chased hard to win the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup last start and has won 3 from 6 races this campaign. Clearly Innocent has not won beyond 1400m and is at very long odds.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
4 Winx
6 Kementari
1 Happy Clapper
5 Invincible Gem
Bet Now