Geelong Cup

The Geelong Cup is a very strong country cup held during the Victorian spring racing carnival. It is an open handicap over 2400 metres held by the Geelong Racing Club in October, 13 days before the Melbourne Cup.

  • Race Type: Group 3, Open Handicap
  • Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Track: Geelong Racecourse, Geelong, New South Wales
  • Date: Wednesday, 21 October 2015

The Geelong Cup began as a principal race over 2 miles in 1872 when it was won by Flying Spud. It replaced the Geelong Criterian Handicap which was run from 1864 to 1871 over 3 miles. The race was not held in 1897, 1907, 1908, 1920, 1935, 1936, 1938, 1946 and 1953. The distance was reduced to 2400 metres in 1972. In 1979 it became a Listed race and in 2004 it was given Group 3 Status.

It is one of the major country cups, and attracts horses heading for the Melbourne Cup. It is often the first time Australians get to see the international horses targeting the big spring races and has proven a very good guide to the Melbourne Cup. The prizemoney for the 2015 race is $300,000 and Geelong Cup Day is a public holiday in Geelong, about 70 kilometres south-west of Melbourne.

Geelong Cup Final Field & Odds 2015

See below for early markets for this years Geelong Cup.

‘Odds not currently available’

Geelong Cup Preview & Tips 2015

Track: Good   Weather: Showers

A full field of 17 plus an emergency have accepted for the $300,000 William Hill Geelong Cup. Thirteen of them are entered in the Melbourne Cup (all except Crafty Cruiser, Genuine Lad, Sonntag, Manndawi and emergency Disclaimer). The early favourite is Dandino who has had 4 wins at this distance and was less than a length behind the winner when 4th in the Turnbull Stakes last start. Second favourite is English stayer Quest For More who has good form over 2400-3200m in Britain and is used to carrying big weights. Third favourite is another import, Guardini, who has 3 wins from 10 starts.

Bonfire hasn’t been far away in two starts this campaign, and can be hard to run down. Orbec has been very consistent and has been in the first 4 home at all 4 runs this campaign – he should be in the finish. Sertorius will have blinkers for the first time, which could sharpen him up. All other runners are currently 15 to 1 or longer, including De Little Engine who likes this distance and has been placed at this track.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
2 Dandino  2 Dandino  2 Dandino
1 Quest For More  8 Orbec  16 De Little Engine
8 Orbec  4 Guardini  1 Quest For More
16 De Little Engine  1 Quest For More  6 Almoonqith

Previous winners of the Geelong Cup:

Only two horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion – Roseview in 1912 and 1914 , and Cameene in 1885 and 1887. It is a tough race and the last mare to win was Oregon Star in 1997. There have been no three-year-old winners. The race has been dead-heated on 3 occasions with the most recent being Sea Legend and Pacific Mirage in 1989. The 1880 dead-heaters had to rerun the race to get a winner – the horses in those days were tough!

In recent years three European-trained Geelong Cup winners have gone on to win the Melbourne Cup, with Irish horse Media Puzzle (2002) and French gallopers Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011). Many other Geelong Cup runners have placed in the Melbourne Cup. Karasi who won the Geelong Cup in 2001 won 3 consecutive Nakayama Grand Jumps in Japan in Tokyo (2005 – 07) and both Americain and Dunaden have won Group 1 races on the international circuit.

Year Winner Second Third
2015 Almoonqith Dandino  Manndawi
2014 Caravan Rolls On Marksmanship Like A Carousel
2013 Ibicenco Verdant Moudre
2012 Gatewood Chateau Margaux Brigantin
2011 Dunaden Tanby Bauer
2010 Americain Moudre Exceptionally
2009 Leica Ding Dandaad Sterling Prince
2008 Bauer Moatize Magic Instinct
2007 The Fuzz Zavite Desert Master
2006 Mandela Vanquished Dracs Back
2005 On A Jeune Brave Lancer Men At Work
2004 Pacific Dancer Devastating Diamond Jake
2003 Zazzman She’s Archie Tumeric
2002 Media Puzzle Requiem Donarch
2001 Karasi Maythehorsebewithu Scrumptious
2000 Savrocca Apache King Bulkhead