The Diamond Jubilee Stakes is a 6 furlong Group 1 sprint. It takes place in June each year on the final day of the five-day Royal Ascot meeting which is one of Britain’s major social events.

  • Race Type: Group 1 Flat Race, 3YOs & up
  • Distance: 6 furlongs (1207 metres)
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Berkshire, United Kingdom
  • Date: Saturday 24 June 2023 (Sunday 1.20am AEST)

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes is a British Group 1 race for three-year-olds and up. It was first run in 1868 as the All Aged Stakes when it was won by Laneret. In 1926 it was renamed the Cork and Orrery Stakes after the 9th Earl of Cork & 9th Earl of Orrery who had served as Master of the Buckhounds from 1866.

The race was originally classed as a Group 3 when race grading was introduced in 1971, and became a Group 2 in 1998. It was upgraded to Group 1 status in 2002 and renamed the Golden Jubilee Stakes to commemorate the Golden Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II in that year. In 2012 it was renamed the Diamond Jubilee Stakes to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee and in 2022 it was renamed the Platinum Jubilee Stakes. It has a field limit of 28 and prizemoney in 2015 of £700,000.

In 2005 the race was run at York, as Ascot was undergoing major redevelopment. In that year it also became a part of the Global Sprint Challenge which is an international race series, and was won by Cape Of Good Hope, trained in Hong Kong. It is currently the sixth leg of the ten-race series, between the King’s Stand Stakes on day one of the Royal Ascot carnival, and the July Cup held at Newmarket.

Past winners of the Platinum Jubilee Stakes:

The Platinum Jubilee Stakes is run only four days after the Kings Stand Stakes on the first day of the Royal Ascot Meeting, but some horses contest both races. In 2003 the brilliant Australian-trained sprinter, Choisir, wrote his name into the record books by winning them both. The most successful horse in the race was Prince Charlie who won in three consecutive years 1872, 1873 and 1874.

The most successful jockey in the race is the legendary Lester Piggott with 9 wins (1958 Right Boy, 1959 Right Boy, 1960 Tin Whistle, 1963 El Gallo, 1968 Mountain Call, 1970 Welsh Saint, 1974 Saritamer, 1979 Thatching and 1993 College Chapel). The most successful trainer is Vincent O’Brien with 5 wins (1970 Welsh Saint, 1974 Saritamer, 1975 Swingtime, 1979 Thatching and 1993 College Chapel).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Khadeem Sacred Highfield Princess
2022 Naval Crown Creative Force Artorius
2021 Dream Of Dreams Glen Shiel Art Power
2020 Hello Youmzain Dream Of Dreams Sceptical
2019 Blue Point Dream Of Dreams Kachy
2018 Merchant Navy City Light Bound For Nowhere
2017 The Tin Man Tasleet Limato
2016 Twilight Son Gold Fun (IRE) Signs Of Blessing (IRE)
2015 Undrafted (USA) Brazen Beau (AUS) Astaire (IRE)
2014 Slade Power Due Diligence Aljamaaheer
2013 Lethal Force Society Rock Krypton Factor
2012 Black Caviar Moonlight Cloud Restiadargen
2011 Society Rock Monsieur Chevalier Star Witness
2010 Starspangledbanner Society Rock Kinsale King
2009 Art Connoisseur Cannonball Lesson In Humility
2008 Kingsgate Native War Artist Sir Gerry
2007 Soldier’s Tale Takeover Target Asset
2006 Les Arcs Balthazaar’s Gift Takeover Target
2005 Cape Of Good Hope Galeota Balmont
2004 Fayr Jag Crystal Castle Cape Of Good Hope
2003 Choisir Airwave Baron’s Pit
2002 Malhub Danehurst Three Points
2001 Harmonic Way Three Points Freud
2000 Superior Premium Sampower Star Lend A Hand
1999 Bold Edge Russian Revival Vision Of Night
1998 Tomba Dyhim Diamond Andreyev
1997 Royal Applause Blue Goblin Catch The Blues
1996 Atraf Catch The Blues
Watch Me

From the archives:

Diamond Jubilee Stakes Preview & Tips 2016

There are only 10 runners for the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Ascot and the early favourite is progressive sprinter Magical Memory who has won 4 of his last 5 starts over this distance including the Duke Of York Stakes last month. Vying for second favouritism are The Tin Man who won well at Windsor last start, and Twilight Son who has 5 wins and a place from 7 starts.

Gold Fun is a Hong Kong galloper and has performed very well at Sha Tin. Undrafted is a USA galloper who won this race last year and won a Grade 2 at Keeneland at his latest outing. Suedois won 3 times in France last year and was 2nd in the Duke of York Stakes last outing. Holler is the Australian runner and will be ridden by James McDonald. He is a Group 1 winner and was 2nd in the G1 William Reid Stakes at his last Australian run. The other 3 runners are at 12 to 1 or longer.

Jo’s Tips
Magical Memory
The Tin Man