Chatham Stakes Race Information

The Chatham Stakes is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the Victorian Racing Club in late October. It is held at Flemington on Victoria Derby Day as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Chatham Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Rising Fast Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Rising Fast Stakes Preview and results.

Renamed the Rising Fast Stakes in 2022

Reduced from 1400m to 1200m in 2022 and from Mackinnon stakes day to Derby day.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Let’s Hurry (1992)

Multiple winners: Scenic Park (2001 & 2003)

Fastest time (1400m): Bezeal Bay (1998) 1:20:83

Interesting trivia: 1978 winner Sarsha’s Coice also won the Group 1 WATC Railway Stakes.

Past winners of the Chatham Stakes

Winners of past Chatham Stakes include Dreamforce (2018), Disposition (2015), Hucklebuck (2014), Fawkner (2012), All Silent (2008), Scenic Peak (2001/2003), Bezeal Bay (1998), Blue Boss (1991), Targlish (1987) and La Caissiere (1984).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Spacewalk Crosshaven Najem Suhail
2022 Argentia Triple Missile The Astrologist
2021 Age Of Chivalry Crosshaven Justacanta
2020 Sansom Morvada Bold Star
2019 Reykjavik Admiral’s Joker Noble Boy
2018 Dreamforce Widgee Turf Perast
2017 Hellova Street Supply And Demand Fox Hall
2016 Rageese Arod Federal