Caulfield Stakes Race Information

The Might And Power/Caulfield Stakes formerly named the Yalumba Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race over 2000 metres steeped in history. The race is held in October each year at Caulfield during the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday, 14 October 2023

Caulfield Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Might And Power Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Might And Power Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Caulfield Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Caulfield Stakes Preview and results

The Caulfield Stakes was first run over 9 furlongs on Melbourne Cup Day in 1886 when it was won by a horse called Isonomy. It was transferred to Guineas Day in 1887, and in 1887 and 1888 it was ran over 10 furlongs. In 1889 it returned to the 9 furlong distance which was run until 1967. In 1968 the distance was made 2000 metres, and in 1979 it was made a Group 1 race.

The WFA race is for three-year-olds and up and carries prizemoney of $1,000,000. Previously the race was known as the Caulfield Stakes but from 1997 to 2010 it was referred to as the Yalumba Stakes. The last three-year-old to win prior to Cape Of Good Hope in 2019 (who was a European 3YO) was Mighty Kingdom in 1979, and no three-year-old filly has ever won the race.

In 2021 the name was changed to the Might And Power.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Probabeel (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Cape Of Good Hope (2019); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Lonhro (2002 & 2003); Kingston Town (1981 & 1982); Winfreux (1965, 1966 & 1967); Sky High (1961 & 1962); Lord (1958,1959 & 1960); Lawrence (1944 & 1945); High Caste (1939 & 1940); Eurythmic (1920, 1921 & 1922); Artillerie (1909 & 1910); Wakeful (1901 & 1902).

Fastest time (2000m): Shaftesbury Avenue (1991) 1:59:3

Interesting trivia: In 1950 Playboy was first past the post but lost on protest to Comic Court. In 1994 Redding beat Paris Lane on protest. There have been three dead-heats: Zambari & Guest Star (1975); Arctic Symbol & Gay Pass (1970); Dhaulagiri & Lord (1960). In 2021 Zaaki was odds-on and finished 3rd in a field of five.

Previous winners of the Caulfield Stakes

Champions are scattered all through the list of past winners, and there are many horses that have won both the Caulfield Stakes and the Cox Plate, which is the most prestigious weight-for-age race in Australia. The list of Caulfield Stakes  and Cox Plate winners includes Northerly (2001), Might and Power (1998), Almaarad (1989), Bonecrusher (1986), Kingston Town (1981 & 1982), Family of Man (1977), Gunsynd (1972), Rising Fast (1954), Amana (1943), Tranquil Star (1942), Ajax (1938) and Young Idea (1936).

Tranquil Star is the only mare to complete this double, while Rising Fast in 1954 also won the Melbourne Cup, Turnbull Stakes, Mackinnon Stakes and Queen Elizabeth Stakes in an unparalleled spring campaign.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Alligator Blood Vow And Declare Duais
2022 Anamoe I’m Thunderstruck Zaaki
2021 Probabeel Nonconformist Zaaki
2020 Arcadia Queen Russian Camelot Humidor
2019 Cape Of Good Hope Black Heart Bart Harlem
2018 Benbatl (GBR) Blair House (IRE) Humidor (NZ)
2017 Gailo Chop (FR) Johannes Vermeer (IRE) Jon Snow (NZ)
2016 Winx Black Heart Bart He Or She
2015 Criterion Happy Trails Mongolian Khan
2014 Fawkner Criterion Side Glance
2013 Atlantic Jewel Foreteller Super Cool
2012 Ocean Park Alcopop Sincero
2011 Descarado Avienus Lights Of Heaven
2010 So You Think Alcopop Whobegotyou
2009 Whobegotyou Heart Of Dreams Vision And Power
2008 Douro Valley Pompeii Ruler Guillotine
2007 Maldivian Miss Finland Anamato
2006 Casual Pass Pompeii Ruler El Segundo
2005 El Segundo Fields Of Omagh Confectioner
2004 Mummify Grand Armee Starcraft
2003 Lonhro Mummify Defier
2002 Lonhro Sunline Ustinov
2001 Northerly Shogun Lodge Ethereal
2000 Sky Heights Shogun Lodge Tie The Knot

2018 Caulfield Stakes Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Twelve runners have accepted for the $1,000,000 Caulfield Stakes. Four of them had their last start in the Underwood Stakes, three had their last start in the Epsom Handicap, and two are having their first Australian start. The two Chris Waller runners are the top picks in the betting. Early favourite is D’argento who was 2nd in the Epsom and second favourite is Unforgotten who ran 3rd in the Epsom. Third in the market is Benbati who will be having his first Australian start but has won at Group 1 level in Germany and Dubai.

Humidor is one of three runners for Darren Weir and ran home strongly for 3rd in the Underwood Stakes. Homesman won the Underwood while Night’s Watch won the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes last start. Tosen Basil was 2nd in the Underwood, The Cliffsofmoher will be having his first Australian start, and Blair House was 4th in the Underwood at his first Australian start. The other 3 runners are currently 40 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
2 Humidor
12 Unforgotten
10 D’argento
6 Homesman