The Brian Crowley Stakes Race Information

The Brian Crowley Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-oldsrun by the Australian Turf Club in late October. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Brian Crowley Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Brian Crowley Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Brian Crowley Stakes Preview and results.

The race is held on the same day as the $1,000,000 Bondi Stakes, and the Listed City Tatt’s Cup. It was first run in 1980 when Ubetido won. The race is named after Sir Brian Hurtle Crowley who was a committee member of the Australian Jockey Club from 1944 to 1974 and chairman from 1962 to 1974 when he retired.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Spright (2016)

Fastest time (1200m): Better Than Ready (2012) 1:08:10

Leading trainers: John Hawkes with 5 wins (Diplomatico 2018; Love Conquers All 2009; Brannigan 2004; Legally Bay 2003; Planchet 2002). The 2018 and 2009 winners were co-trained with sons Wayne and Michael.

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Brian Crowley Stakes

Winners of past Brian Crowley Stakes include Hot Snitzel (2011), Love Conquers All (2009), Northern Meteor (2008), Dynamic Lve (2000), Paris Opera (1989), Let’s Get Physical (1985).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Mumbai Muse General Salute Keenan
2022 Kote Thron Bone Dashing Legend
2021 Mazu Battleton Able Willie
2020 The Bopper Tommy Gold On The Lead
2019 Diamond Thunder Cardiff Hulk
2018 Diplomatico Legend Of Condor Mansa Musa
2017 Goodfella Piracy Andaz
2016 Spright Star Of Monsoon Faraway Town
2015 Counterattack Spill The Beans Hellbent
2014 Kuro Time For War Inkling
2013 Boss Lane Mr Jackman Dothraki
2012 Better Than Ready Jolie Bay Brave Soul
2011 Hot Snitzel Combat Kitty Mahisara
2010 Celts Buffering Hinchinbrook
2009 Love Conquers All Happy Hippy Silver Spur
2008 Northern Meteor Geared Up Yesterday
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Reigning To Win Bianca Face Of The Earth
2005 War of the Worlds Jet Spur Stramos
2004 Brannigan Picket Fence Bolshy
2003 Legally Bay Freeze Sticks ‘n’ Stones
2002 Planchet Chuckle Air Of Grace
2001 Patterns Time Out Finbarr
2000 Dynamic Love Ateates Pieces
1999 Katima Over Let’s Compromise
1998 Shovhog Manana Spend
1997 Al Mansour My Halo Broke Spy King
1996 Apple Danish Buriton The Oscars
1995 Ravarda Quick Flick Cheviot
1994 Palm Beach Babe Lord Jim Sword
1993 Gold Brose Jetball Dancing Dynamite
1992 Atlantic Brave Clan O’Sullivan Facile
1991 Marchons Chortle On Kiley’s Run
1990 The Bullfighter Acecay Sir Patrick
1989 Paris Opera Shaftesbury Avenue Sanction
1988 Temple Front Mariinsky Gypsy Rogue
1987 Dream Faith Potter McQueen Don’t Play
1986 Sound Horizon Sivensa Pre Catelan
1985 Let’s Get Physical Cenchire Emperor’s Fury
1984 Whinavi Foystaan Yallah Prince
1983 Sculptor Rocket In Flight Making Time
1982 Head For Minto Regal Karioi Red Goshawk
1981 Swift Gun Talkalot Food For Love
1980 Ubetido Yir Tiz Hanalei